Skip to main content
Roanoke College Logo Fintel Lbrary
Log in to your account  

Library policies

Collecting Scope

Fintel Library will strive to acquire resources at the following collection levels as defined by the former Research Library Group and W(ashington)L(ibrary)N(etwork):

1. “Out-of-Scope”: Fintel Library will not collect in this area.“Minimal Level: A subject area in which few selections are made beyond very basic works..” Fintel Library will not collect in this area.

2. “Basic Information Level: A collection of up-to-date general materials that serve to introduce and define a subject and to indicate the varieties of information available elsewhere. It may include dictionaries, encyclopedias, selected editions of important works, historical surveys, bibliographies, handbooks, a few major periodicals, in the minimum number that will serve the purpose. A basic information collection is not sufficiently intensive to support any courses of independent study in the subject area involved.” – Fintel Library will collect in this area.​

3. “Instructional Support Level: A collection that in a university is adequate to support undergraduate and most graduate instruction, or sustained independent study; that is, adequate to maintain knowledge of a subject required for limited or generalized purposes, of less than research intensity. It includes a wide range of basic monographs, complete collections of works of more important writers, selections from the works of secondary writers, a selection of representative journals, and reference tools and fundamental bibliographical apparatus pertaining to the subject.”  – Fintel Library will collect in this area.

4. “Research Level: A collection that includes the major published source materials required for dissertations and independent research, including materials containing research reporting, new findings, scientific experimental results, and other information useful to researchers. It is intended to include all important reference works and a wide selection of specialized monographs, as well as a very extensive collection of journals and major indexing and abstracting services in the field. Older material is retained for historical research. Government documents are included in American and foreign law collections.” – Fintel Library may collect limited resources to support continued, intensive research learning curricula.

5“Comprehensive Level: A collection which, so far as is reasonably possible, includes all significant works of recorded knowledge (publications, manuscripts, and other forms), in all applicable languages, for a necessarily defined and limited field. This level of collecting intensity is one that maintains a “special collection." The aim, if not achievement, is exhaustiveness. Older material is retained for historical research. In law collections, this includes manuscripts, dissertations, and material on non-legal aspects.”  – Fintel Library will not collect in this area.