Skip to Main Content
Roanoke College Logo Fintel Lbrary
Log in to your account  

Library policies

Roanoke College Archives & Special Collections

Roanoke College Archives 

Collecting Scope

The Roanoke College Archives collects and preserves materials pertaining to College and its surrounding area, its faculty, alumni, and its Lutheran heritage.  Items accepted into the Archives may include administrative records and files, formal publications, and realia of the College.  The Roanoke College Archives does not seek to purchase nor collect special collections or rare items.  The Library will strive to acquire for the Roanoke College Archives one copy of each monograph for which a current faculty member serves as the primary author or editor for the Archives’ collections.  Personal collections of monographs and journals may be evaluated for acceptance into the collections of the Library and Archives.  General office files of faculty and staff are typically not collected by the Archives. 

Assessment & Evaluation

Material donations to the Fintel Library Roanoke College Archives are evaluated for addition into the Archives' collections.  Items are not automatically accepted and added.  Assessment and evaluation may include but are not be limited to:

1. Support of Roanoke College’s educational programs
2. Enhancement of current collections
3. Historical value related to Roanoke College
4. Requirements for processing, preservation, and storage
5.  If items are to be considered loans (on deposit) or permanent additions
6.  Duplication of materials already in the College Archives' and Library's collections

Materials accepted into the Archives’ collections are to be considered permanent gifts to the Archives for research, study, and use. Materials not accepted for addition into the College Archives will be disposed of in the manner deemed appropriate by the College Archives.

Special Collections

Fintel Library and the Roanoke College Archives do not develop specialized collections outside Roanoke College’s educational programs.  Special collections donated to the Library and/or Roanoke College Archives but unrelated to this mission should be accompanied by financial support for processing and preservation.  The Roanoke College Archives reserves the right to dispose of collections not accepted for addition in the manner that it deems appropriate.

Please note, gifts may qualify as legitimate deductions for tax purposes. However, Fintel Library and the Roanoke College Archives are considered to be an interested parties; therefore, neither party can provide value estimations.