Skip to main content
Roanoke College Logo Fintel Lbrary
Log in to your account  

Library policies

Statement of Purpose

Fintel Library acquires and makes available monographs, journals, federal documents, non-print, and electronic resources to support Roanoke College’s educational programs, for instruction, study, research, and for cultural enrichment.   Library holdings are accessible to all campus and community members.  The Fintel Library College Archives collects and preserves materials pertaining to the College and its surrounding area, its faculty, and its alumni.

Librarians in collaboration with faculty members share responsibility to meet student information needs through the selection and acquisition of course-supporting materials.  Having knowledge of courses offered, librarians work with faculty in collection building, evaluation, and weeding.

The Library Director allocates budget funds in accordance with teaching, learning, and research needs.  Funds are allocated with consideration given to majors in an area, average cost for resources, and inflation rates.  Materials solely for departmental, classroom, laboratory, or office use should be purchased directly by the interested parties.   For research on campus and beyond Fintel Library will provide a reference collection of print and electronic resources, bibliographies, and other tools.

Fintel Library collections are developed to support the primary curricula of Roanoke College students and faculty.  Unless there is a proven demand, multiple copies of materials are not ordered due to library budgeting and space limitations.  Fintel Library supports the free exchange of ideas with collections that provide access to a selection of material on all subjects that support the college’s mission. The library and archives provides access in accordance with the American Library Association’s Library Bill of Rights (http://www.ala.org/advocacy/intfreedom/librarybill), the Freedom to Read Statement (http://www.ala.org/advocacy/intfreedom/freedomreadstatement), and the Freedom to View Statement (http://www.ala.org/advocacy/intfreedom/freedomviewstatement). The library and archives strive to balance access to, and ownership of, information resources that offer the widest possible range of viewpoints.  Material will not be excluded from library and archives collections because of frankness of language or controversial approach or because the political, moral or religious, sexual, social, economic, or scientific views expressed or because of the race or national origin, politics, or religion of the author.

Fintel Library and Hollins University’s Wyndham Robertson Library participate in cooperative resource sharing.  This arrangement provides almost immediate access to physical collections which may not be within the primary curriculum collecting scope of the home institution’s library.

The Fintel Library Collection Development Policy addresses the following areas: