Research Guides: Library resources for online learning and teaching: Image and Video Resources

Image and Video Resources from Fintel Library

Fintel Library provides access to several streaming media collections. This includes licensed resources as well as free resources. The licensed resources include American History in Video, Films on Demand, Platino Educa, and Psychotherapy.net. These services allow multiple users simultaneous access to the same title. Watch lists and clips can be made and shared among Roanoke College faculty and students.

For streaming films that are not available in the library's databases, faculty can submit a request to their subject liaison for the library try to acquire a streaming license. Staff will need time to determine if a film can be licensed for viewing online. Allow at least one week after requesting before assigning to students. Faculty will be notified when/if a film is available for streaming.

Individually licensed content is generally available for no more than one year. The file below contains a list of online video content requested by faculty and currently licensed for viewing. Statistics are provided on the number of times a title has been viewed to date. The expiration date for each title is also included. If you plan to re-use or assign a video that you have previously requested, please check this list. If the expiration date is in advance of the assignment, please ask your subject liaison to have the license renewed. If a title that you previously requested does not appear on this list and you intend to show it this semester, please let your subject liaison know.

Licensed Streaming Media Spring 2024

American History in Video This link opens in a new window
Analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries. Provides 5,752 titles, equaling approximately 1,482 hours.
ArtStor This link opens in a new window
The ARTstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides more than one million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research.
Films on Demand Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
A web-based streaming media platform that permits one to view videos online from Films Media Group anytime, anywhere, 24/7. Thousands of videos are available for in-class use and remote viewing from the library, in the dorm, or at home.
Platino Educa This link opens in a new window
Offers 240 pieces from Spanish and Latin American producers and includes 70 of the Academy of Cinematographic Arts and Sciences of Spain’s list of 100 must-watch Spanish films for students. Along with guides that support teachers, many of which are available in Spanish and English. It is an initiative from EGEDA, the body of intellectual property rights management.
Psychotherapy.net This link opens in a new window
Psychotherapy.net allows for unlimited access to 338 videos designed to improve the clinical skills of mental health professionals. Psychotherapy.net videos feature Yalom, Linehan, Kernberg and other experts in session with real clients, and step-by-step explanations of their interventions. With the Psychotherapy.net video library students can see theory being put into action, bridging the gap between learning about therapy and actually providing therapy.