Public Affairs Research Guide: Home

The collection also contains award-winning documentaries, featuring dramatic reenactments and engaging analysis from prominent scholars and experts. Early newsreels, including the complete series of United Newsreel and Universal Newsreel capture history as it was made and reported to viewers of the time.

journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields

"DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. DOAJ is independent. All funding is via donations, 40% of which comes from sponsors and 60% from members and publisher members."

Covers environmental issues

Replaces Dow Jones Interactive, Company & Industry Reports, Stock Information, Business Newstand & Publications Library - quotes, market data, analysis, international news, fulltext articles from newspapers and periodicals

Selected ebooks in the arts, biography, business, education, law, literature, medicine, nation and world, religion, science, social science, technology

Full text journals, many back to the original issue. Provides access to journals in the arts & sciences, business, ecology & botany, and languages & literature. JSTOR's coverage typically begins 3 -5 years after the current year.

Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.

more than 1,000 journals, from a wide range of disciplines including: Business & Management, Cardiology & Cardiovascular Medicine, Clinical Medicine & Surgery, Communication & Media Studies, Criminology, Education, Engineering & Materials Science, Geography, Health & Nursing, Neurology & Neuroscience, Orthopaedics & Sports Medicine, Pharmacology, Toxicology & Pathology, Politics & International Relations, Psychiatry, Psychology & Counselling, Religion

indexes professional literature of the social sciences

Sociology, contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908.

"The mission of the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) is to enforce the controlled substances laws and regulations of the United States and bring to the criminal and civil justice system of the United States, or any other competent jurisdiction, those organizations and principal members of organizations, involved in the growing, manufacture, or distribution of controlled substances appearing in or destined for illicit traffic in the United States; and to recommend and support non-enforcement programs aimed at reducing the availability of illicit controlled substances on the domestic and international markets."

Google Scholar offers an extensive database of state and federal cases.

“… [contains] more than 182 million pages and 281,000 titles of historical and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format. … [provides] comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 2,800 law-related periodicals. In addition to its vast collection of academic journals, HeinOnline contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.”

This database contains full text for more than 250 of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals. Legal Collection is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world.

This database covers literature related to research, policy and practice in criminal and juvenile justice and drug control. Abstracts and indexing only.

"Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790." Users will find full-text legal, business, medical, and news sources in Nexis Uni.

Covers today's hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration.

Brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest and most trusted reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource.