Finding Data: Data & Statistics Resources

"The ARDA Data Archive is a collection of surveys, polls, and other data submitted by researchers and made available online by the ARDA. There are over 1,000 data files included in the ARDA collection. You can browse files by category, alphabetically, view the newest additions, most popular files, or search for a file. Once you select a file you can preview the results, read about how the data were collected, review the survey questions asked, save selected survey questions to your own file, and/or download the data file."

A nonprofit dedicated to “inform[ing] the public about the issues, attitudes, and trends shaping the world,” the Pew Research Center is one of the most authoritative sources of information for anyone striving to make better business decisions.

"... source for religious data at the county level. It reports the number of congregations in every U.S. county equivalent for each of 236 faith groups."

This archive contains data from over 3,100 curated studies or statistical data series. NACJD is home to several large-scale and well known datasets, including the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS), the FBI's Uniform Crime Reports (UCR), the FBI's National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS), and the Project on Human Development in Chicago Neighborhoods (PHDCN).

Numerous data collections from the Bureau of Justice Statistics division of the Department of Justice.

Economic statistics that enable decision makers, researchers, and the public to follow the performance of the nation's economy.

Statistical areas are defined (geographically delineated) by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB) in bulletin no. 13-01 issued February 28, 2013, and the definitions are updated as new information warrants.[1] [2] When OMB adds a new statistical area, BEA creates a time series for it starting in the earliest year in which data is available, even though it may not have had any urban area at the time. Similarly, when OMB changes the definition of a statistical area, BEA recreates the time series for that area, using the new definition for every year in the time series, published at the scheduled release date of the data set.

Offers "free and open access to global development data. World Bank Group is a unique global partnership: five institutions working for sustainable solutions that reduce poverty and build shared prosperity in developing countries."

Provides data & policy tools, 50-State Demographics Data Generator, 50-State Policy Tracker, Basic Needs Budget Calculator, Benefit Cliffs Calculator, demographic profiles, early childhood profiles, Family Resource Simulator, immigration profiles, Young Child Risk Calculator.

"The Census Bureau provides information on a variety of educational topics, from educational attainment and school enrollment to school costs and financing."

Comprehensive data and analysis portal for key topics in education. EdStats tools, resources and queries help users visualize and analyze education data.

Summary opinions on policy & research.

The mission of EPA is to protect human health and the environment by developing and enforcing regulations; giving grants; studying environmental issues; sponsoring partnerships; teaching people about the environment; and publishing information.

"...free access to NCDC's archive of global historical weather and climate data in addition to station history information. These data include quality controlled daily, monthly, seasonal, and yearly measurements of temperature, precipitation, wind, and degree days as well as radar data and 30-year Climate Normals."

From the website: "NOAA is an agency that enriches life through science. Our reach goes from the surface of the sun to the depths of the ocean floor as we work to keep citizens informed of the changing environment around them."

"... collects, analyzes, and disseminates independent and impartial energy information to promote sound policymaking, efficient markets, and public understanding of energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment."

The Sustainable Development Goals or Global Goals are a collection of 17 interlinked global goals designed to be a "blueprint to achieve a better and more sustainable future for all". The SDGs were set up in 2015 by the United Nations General Assembly and are intended to be achieved by the year 2030.

AHRQ is the "lead Federal agency charged with improving the safety and quality of healthcare for all Americans. AHRQ develops the knowledge, tools, and data needed to improve the healthcare system and help consumers, healthcare professionals, and policymakers make informed health decisions."

The CDC is a part of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services and is the primary federal agency for public health. The Data & Statistics site offers health statistics on a range of topics, including global health.

This site contains "data on a wide range of topics, including environmental health, medical devices, Medicare & Medicaid, social services, community health, mental health, and substance abuse. The data is collected and supplied from agencies from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services as well as state partners. This includes the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Food and Drug Administration, and the Agency for Health Care Research and Quality, among others. "

"... provides interested researchers with access to the original datasets generated by PD&R-sponsored data collection efforts, including the American Housing Survey, median family incomes and income limits, as well as microdata from research initiatives on topics such as housing discrimination, the HUD-insured multifamily housing stock, and the public housing population."

"Publishes peer-reviewed data papers describing psychology datasets with high reuse potential. Data papers may describe datasets from unpublished work or from papers published previously in a traditional journal."

"ASPE releases the annual U.S. Federal Poverty Guidelines, which are used to determine financial eligibility for some Federal programs. Presented here are the poverty lines for every State and the District of Columbia. You will also find extensive resources on poverty estimates, trends, and analysis, plus historical information on poverty and the Guidelines. More broadly, this section also encompasses issues like poverty and income dynamics, and asset building and financial literacy."

Federal agency website offering information on grants, research & analysis, program data, child nutrition, tables, food distribution program tables, SNAP tables, Puerto Rico NAP tables, and WIC data tables. Also has links to fact sheets, the Federal Register, guidance documents, legislation, policy memos, and videos/webinars.

"WHO's annual World Health Statistics reports present the most recent health statistics for the WHO Member States and each edition supersedes the previous one. All reports are available for download in Adobe PDF and excel when applicable. "