Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Roanoke College Logo Fintel Lbrary
Log in to your account  

Virginia Newspapers: Home

Listed here include a major representative newspaper from the Virginia cities of Roanoke, Danville, Lynchburg, Norfolk, and Richmond.  Each entry is accompanied by a "Historical Chronicle" PDF, which tracks the history of the paper in each of its iterations, and includes a list of locations in Virginia that have original copies of the paper or microfilm. 

For locating Virginia newspapers not listed here, the Library of Virginia - Virginia Newspaper Project and the Virginia Chronicle newspaper database links below are especially helpful. 

Online Databases

Roanoke/Salem

Roanoke Times

Originally published in 1886 as the "Roanoke Daily Times".  Published under current name 1995-present.  The Salem Public Library houses a microfilm collection spanning from 1897-1977. The Library of Virginia's Virginia Chronicle newspaper database offers online access to the Roanoke Daily Times (Roanoke, VA, 1889-1890). Fintel Library's Newsbank subscription offers online access to content from 1990 - present.

Salem Times Register

Originally published in 1854 as the "Salem Weekly Register".  Published under current name 1970-present.  The Library of Virginia's Virginia Chronicle newspaper database provides online access to:

The Salem Public Library houses a microfilm collection spanning from 1909-present.

Danville

Danville Register & Bee

Originally published in 1882 as the "Daily Register".  Published under current name 1989-present.

The Library of Virginia houses a complete microfilm collection from 1989-present.

Lynchburg

News & Advance

Originally published in 1866 as "Lynchburg Daily News".  Published under current name 1991-present.

The Library of Virginia houses a complete microfilm collection from 1991-present.

Norfolk

Virginian-Pilot

Originally published in 1898 under the same name, and underwent several mergers before being published in its modern form 1955-present.

The Library of Virginia houses an incomplete microfilm collection and offers online access to the Virginian-Pilot (Norfolk, VA, 1899-1900) through its Virginia Chronicle newspaper database.

Richmond

Richmond Times-Dispatch

Originally published in 1850 as "Daily Dispatch".  Published under current name 1914-present.  Virginia Tech and the Library of Virginia have complete microfilm collections from 1914-present.  The Library of Virginia's Virginia Chronicle newspaper database provides online access to the Richmond Times-Dispatch (Richmond, VA, 1914-1922).

About Fintel Library

Profile Photo
Fintel Library
Contact:
Fintel Library
220 High Street
Salem, VA 24153-3794


Administration- 540.375.2293
Archives- 540.375.2490
Lending Services- 540.375.2294
Library Technology- 540.375.2575
Reference- 540.375.2295
Website

Worldcat