Skip to main content

About Us: All about Fintel Library

Library Staff

   

 

Sara Blaha
blaha@roanoke.edu
Library Senior  Associate- Periodicals & Lending Services
540-375-2294

 

Piper Cumbo
cumbo@roanoke.edu
Instruction & Reference Librarian
540-375-2295
View Profile

Nitra Eastby
eastby@roanoke.edu
Evening Supervisor
540-375-2294

Judy Gearing
gearing@roanoke.edu
Library Senior Associate- Cataloging
540-375-2292

Hany Hosny
hosny@roanoke.edu
Lending Services Librarian
540-375-2294

Nancy Logan
logan@roanoke.edu
Library Associate - Acquisitions
540-375-2290

Dianne Lucado
lucado@roanoke.edu
Library Senior Associate- Purchasing & Budgets
540-375-2293

Jeffrey Martin
jmartin@roanoke.edu
Library Associate- Interlibrary Loan
540-375-2298

Elizabeth G. McClenney
mcclenney@roanoke.edu
Library Director
540-375-2293

Linda Miller
lmiller@roanoke.edu
Archivist
540-375-2490
Patty Powell
ppowell@roanoke.edu
Cataloging & Government Documents Librarian
540-375-2292
View Profile

David Wiseman
dcwiseman@roanoke.edu
Manager Library Information Systems
540-375-2575

Who we are

Named in honor of Dr. Norman Fintel, eighth president of Roanoke College, and his wife, Jo, the Fintel Library offers a collection of over 400,000 total items. The facility is handicapped accessible; offers seating for over 400; includes individual and group study rooms; has a "silent study" floor, two computer lab areas, and the Goode-Pasfield Center for Learning and Teaching.

More than 3,000 new items are added to the collection annually. Besides the sheer size of the collection, Fintel Library is proud to offer the latest in electronic journals (providing access to the full text of thousands of titles) from more than 200 databases and a wide selection of multi-media materials. Among the most popular items is the 1,000+ volume DVD collection. In addition, the library is also a selective depository library for United States Government Documents.

Fintel Library has a combined catalog and shares its collection with the Wyndham Robertson Library at Hollins University through a reciprocal borrowing agreement. This agreement has the effect of placing many additional volumes in the hands of our students. A weekday courier service provides delivery within 24-hours of a request.

The Fintel Library houses the Roanoke College Archives. In addition to the historical records relating to the College, the holdings include rare books, the papers of both former Secretary of the Treasury Henry H. Fowler and former Congressman James R. Olin, and the photographs of E. Howard Hammersley. The Archives also has on deposit the records of the Virginia Synod of the Evangelical Lutheran Church of America.

Fintel Five Blog

Loading

About Fintel Library

Fintel Library's picture
Fintel Library
Contact:
Fintel Library
220 High Street
Salem, VA 24153-3794


Administration- 540.375.2293
Archives- 540.375.2490
Lending Services- 540.375.2294
Library Technology- 540.375.2575
Reference- 540.375.2295
Website / Blog Page