Research Guides: INQ 110 The Age of the Model T: Paper #3: Research Paper

Primary Source Periodicals

The Crisis
The Crisis is the official publication of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP). It features African American commentary on current affairs. In the past, it has also featured African American literature prominently, and was one of the major magazines of the Harlem Renaissance.
The Masses
From the collection site: "The Masses, a richly illustrated radical magazine, was published monthly in New York from 1911 until 1917, when it was suppressed by the government for its anti-war and anti-government perspective"
The Fiery Cross
The Fiery Cross was published by the United Klans of America. Digital copies of this publication exist on the Indiana University page and on the Internet Archive.
The Catholic Transcript
Weekly newspaper for the Catholic diocese of Hartford, CT.
The Dearborn Independent
The Dearborn Independent began around 1901 as a local newspaper. It was taken over by Henry Ford in 1919, who gave it a much wider circulation and an antisemitic editorial bent.
The Woman Citizen
The Woman Citizen was an American magazine for women suffragists and voters published in New York in the early 20th century.

Recommended Databases (Primary and Secondary Resources)

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with full-text periodicals, peer-reviewed journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. It features PDF content going back as far as 1887.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text journals, many back to the original issue. Provides access to journals in the arts & sciences, business, ecology & botany, and languages & literature. JSTOR's coverage typically begins 3 -5 years after the current year.
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers, 1851 - 2013) This link opens in a new window
The ProQuest Historical New York Times (1851 - 2013) w/ Index (1851-1993) historical newspaper collection provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times.
Washington Post (ProQuest Historical Newspapers, 1877 - 2004) This link opens in a new window
The ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post (1877 - 2004) provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Reader's Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
1890-1982 provides indexing of over three million articles from more than 550 leading magazines, including full coverage of the original print volumes of Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature.
Newspapers.com - Southeast Collection This link opens in a new window
The Newspapers.com -Southeast Collection archive offers historical coverage to full page newspaper images with searchable full-text for millions of pages of historical newspapers (1766 -2023) in the southeastern region of the United States.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Offers a large collection of online scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. Resources are available for reading online, printing, and/or downloading and using off-line.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes all data from Humanities International Index(more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full text content.

INQ 110 The Age of the Model T: Paper #3: Research Paper

Primary vs. Secondary Resources

Primary Source Periodicals

Recommended Databases (Primary and Secondary Resources)