Book Displays

“On 4 April 1967 Martin Luther King, Jr., delivered his seminal speech at Riverside Church condemning the Vietnam War. Declaring “my conscience leaves me no other choice,” King described the war’s deleterious effects on both America’s poor and Vietnamese peasants and insisted that it was morally imperative for the United States to take radical steps to halt the war through nonviolent means" -- Martin Luther King, Jr. Encyclopedia, https://kinginstitute.stanford.edu/encyclopedia/beyond-vietnam. This audio-only recording was posted to YouTube by the Library of Congress.

"Vol. 1. Awakenings, 1954-1956 ; Fighting back, 1957-1962 / produced and directed by Judith Vecchione; writers, Steve Fayer, Juan Williams -- v. 2. Ain't scared of your jails, 1960-1961/ director, Orlando Bagwell ; writers, Steve Fayer, Juan Williams ; No easy walk, 1961-1963 / directed, written by Callie Crossley, James A. DeVinney -- v. 3. Mississippi : Is this America?, 1962-1964 / director, Orlando Bagwell ; writers, Steve Fayer, Juan Williams ; Bridge to freedom, 1965 / directed, written by Callie Crossley, James A. DeVinney -- v. 4. The time has come, 1964-1966 / produced, directed, and written by Madison Davis Lacy, Jr., James A. DeVinney ; Two societies, 1965-1968 / produced, written, directed by Sheila Bernard, Sam Pollard -- v. 5. Power! 1966-1968 / produced, directed, and written by Louis Massiah, Terry Kay Rockefeller ; The promised land, 1967-1968 / produced, directed, and written by Paul Stekkler, Jacqueline Shearer -- v. 6. Ain't gonna shuffle no more, 1964-1972 / produced, directed, and written by Sam Pollard, Sheila Bernard ; A nation of law? 1968-1971/ produced, directed, and written by Terry Kay Rockefeller, Thomas Ott, Louis Massiah -- v. 7. The keys to the kingdom, 1974-1980 / produced, directed, and written by Paul Stekkler, Jacqueline Shearer ; Back to the movement, 1979-1985 / produced, directed, and written by Madison Davis Lacy, Jr., James A. DeVinney. Vols. 1-3 tell the story of America's civil rights years from 1954 to 1965; vols. 4-7 examine the new America from 1966 to 1985, from community power to the human alienation of urban poverty."

"Assassinated on April 4th, 1968 (5:51); Interview: May 8th, 1967 (2:27); Los Angeles Riots, 1965 (4:49); Vietnam War Erupts (2:14); Chicago, Illinois: January 1966 (5:41); Mississippi June 6, 1966 (9:10); Chicago, Illinois: July 10, 1966 (3:48); Gage Park: August 5, 1966 (7:09); Senate Hearing (4:21); King's Church (5:10); Atlanta, Georgia (5:38); Extra-Marital Affairs (3:58); "Beyond Vietnam: A Time to Break Silence" (7:11); Summer 1967 (10:30); February 1968 (4:05); Memphis, Tennessee (5:04); Back to Memphis (4:00); April 4, 1968 (2:29); Aftermath (6:53); April 9, 1968 (4:05); Upon Reflection (4:42); Credits: King in the Wilderness (1:51);

From award-winning director/producer Peter Kunhardt, King in the Wilderness follows Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. during the volatile last three years of his life, from the passage of the Voting Rights Act in 1965 to his assassination in April 1968. Drawing on revelatory stories from his inner circle of friends, the film provides a clear window into the civil rights leader’s character, showing him to be a man with an unshakeable commitment to peaceful protest in the face of an increasingly unstable country. Illuminating and poignant, the documentary – which is tied to the 50th anniversary of King’s death – reveals a conflicted leader whose successes were punctuated in his final years by an onslaught of criticism from both sides of the political spectrum, whether the Black Power movement, who saw his nonviolence as weakness, or President Lyndon B. Johnson, who viewed his anti-Vietnam War speeches as irresponsible. With compassion and clarity, King in the Wilderness unearths a stirring new perspective into Dr. King’s character, his radical doctrine of nonviolence, and his internal philosophical struggles prior to his death, inviting a sense of penetrating intimacy and insight into one of the most profound thinkers of our time."

"A Change is Gonna Come (4:23) -- Central High (3:28) -- The Hour of Maximum Danger (5:09) -- Freedom Comes to Birmingham (4:22) -- Ripples of Hope (1:24) -- I have a Dream (3:48) -- Preview and Credits: Let Freedom Ring (2:09).

The Civil Rights movement becomes the most effective social movement in U.S. history. During this era, Martin Luther King, Jr. marches on Washington, and Little Rock's high school is integrated. John F. Kennedy is inaugurated as President of the United States."

"Preserving THE MARCH (1963) - The Motion Picture Preservation Lab preserved James Blue's monumental film, The March, in 2008. To mark the 50th anniversary of the The March for Jobs and Freedom we have completed a full digital restoration of the film. The original negatives assembled by James Blue were scanned and three months were spent restoring defects in the image and enhancing the audio track. For more information please visit the National Archives Unwritten Record Blog - https://unwritten-record.blogs.archiv...

National Archives Identifier: 47526
https://catalog.archives.gov/id/47526

*The audio from 23:13 to 29:44 in this film has been redacted due to a copyright restriction by Dr. King's family.*"

"Just one hundred years after Abraham Lincoln signed the Emancipation Proclamation to free the slaves, 200,000 march in Washington to rally for civil rights. In an orderly gathering at the Lincoln Memorial they hear the 10 top leaders of the movement urge Congress to pass the Civil Rights Bill to end racial inequity. They call for "action now"--the theme of the monstrous rally. None of the disorder that authorities feared developed -it seemed partly like an outing, partly Sunday school picnic, partly political -it was a serious gathering that was tinged with good-humor as if the demonstrators had finally found strength in each other. As a pictorial record of history nothing more compelling has ever been filmed."

At time stamp 5:05 one will hear the portion of Dr. King's speech which includes "I have a dream …"

"Movie from the National Museum of African American History and Culture's exhibit, Changing America: The Emancipation Proclamation, 1863 and the March on Washington, 1963 on view at the National Museum of American History December 14, 2012 - September 17, 2014." At time stamp 14:17, Dr. King begins his "I have a dream" speech. It is an excerpt only. The full text of the speech was made available by the NAACP: https://www.naacp.org/i-have-a-dream-speech-full-march-on-washington/.

"The day before he was assassinated, Martin Luther King Jr. delivered a speech in support of striking sanitation workers in Memphis. During the speech he noted that while he faced continued death threats, he believed that the civil rights movement would live on without him."

This is an audio-only recording of Dr. King's "I have a dream" speech given at the March on Washington, August 28, 1963. The video was posted to YouTube by The Martin Luther King, Jr. Center for Nonviolent Social Change. A transcript of the speech was made available by the NAACP: https://www.naacp.org/i-have-a-dream-speech-full-march-on-washington/.

On December 11, 1964, Dr. King, gave his Nobel Prize lecture entitled "The quest for peace and justice" in Oslo, Norway. The Nobel Prize Organization posted an openly accessible video of the lecture to Facebook. The oration differs from Dr. King's written speech. Notably at the very end Dr. King includes excerpts from his “I have a dream” speech to include “… free at last, free at last, thank God almighty, we are free at last.”

"Many Rivers to Cross Introduction (2:45) -- Labor Discrimination (1:30) -- Detroit Racial Tension (1:34) -- Detroit Race Wars (1:18) -- Double V Campaign (2:49) -- Woodard Incident (1:59) -- Integrating Radio (2:50) -- African American Celebrity Activism (3:56) -- Montgomery Boycott (2:37) -- Civil Disobedience (1:39) -- Desegregating the South (3:17) -- Student Civil Rights Actions (5:21) -- Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (3:13) -- Conflicting Civil Rights Movements (4:32) -- March for Freedom (2:12) -- Bloody Sunday (2:11) -- Selma Solidarity (2:24) -- Voting Rights Act (1:08) -- Black Power Movement (4:50) -- End of Nonviolence (1:27) -- Credits: Rise! (1940-1986): The African Americans-Many Rivers to Cross (2:26)

This film examines the long road to civil rights, when the deep contradictions in American society finally became unsustainable. African Americans who fought fascism in World War II came home to face the same old racial violence.The success of black entrepreneurs and entertainers fueled African-American hopes and dreams. In 1955, Rosa Parks refused to give up her seat on a city bus in Montgomery, Alabama, heralding the dawn of a movement of resistance, with Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. as its public face. Before long, masses of African Americans practiced this nonviolent approach to integrate public schools, lunch counters and more. In 1968, Dr. King was assassinated, unleashing a new call for "Black Power" across the country."

"Rarely seen footage of Martin Luther King, Jr., speaking to students at Barratt Junior High School in Philadelphia on October 26, 1967, where he delivered his speech "What Is Your Life's Blueprint?" This video was posted to YouTube by Beacon Press. A transcript of the speech was made available by the Seattle Times: https://projects.seattletimes.com/mlk/words-blueprint.html. Per Beacon Press, "video [is] used by permission of The School District of Philadelphia. All rights reserved. Speech reprinted in A Time to Break Silence: The Essential Works of Martin Luther King, Jr., for Students, part of the King Legacy Series, published by Beacon Press. This is the first time the speech has been published in its entirety."