Research Guides: INQ-300: Silent Crisis of Mental Health (Dr. Schlegel): .

WHERE to gather information: Databases Worth Your While

The landing page for Fintel Library is a great place to begin. More narrowly focused collections of electronic journals can be found below.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with full-text periodicals, peer-reviewed journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. It features PDF content going back as far as 1887.
Alt Health Watch This link opens in a new window
focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
more than a century of full-text anthropological knowledge, across the breadth and depth of the discipline.
(off-campus access)
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text journals, many back to the original issue. Provides access to journals in the arts & sciences, business, ecology & botany, and languages & literature. JSTOR's coverage typically begins 3 -5 years after the current year.
Newsbank This link opens in a new window
Full text access and image access to more thank 10,000 newspapers from the U.S. and worldwide. Access includes both historical and current day's news which includes the Roanoke Times, from 1990 to the current day.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 70 national (U.S.) and international newspapers including the Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. and television & radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc. The database also contains selective full text for more than 330 regional (U.S.) newspapers.
OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Contains full text of articles from over 2,500 publications, and indexing and abstracts from nearly 3,600 publications, supporting research in all core undergraduate subjects and for cross-disciplinary work.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Covers today's hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Offers a large collection of online scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. Resources are available for reading online, printing, and/or downloading and using off-line.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
Pubmed This link opens in a new window
Professional medical literature available via the National Library of Medicine as PubMed.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Social Sciences Full Text™ provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences. This resource provides detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983—nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed.
SocINDEX with full text This link opens in a new window
Sociology, contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908.

Your feedback is important to us! (P-L-E-A-S-E click on the image below!)

Search Secrets! (Click to watch video.)

Once you've determined your topic, it's time to do some brainstorming! No need to get on a computer quite yet! In fact, it's probably best to to this with paper and pencil. Click on the image above to see what happens when we are too anxious and we overlook the mind mapping and brainstorming needed to get good results. Don't forget to to return to this page after watching this short video.
(Source: Leonard Lief Library of Lehman College.)

Your Annotated Bibliography

Looking for a clear explanation on how to do your annotated bibliography? Look no further! Click on the video above!

Your Literature Review

A literature review is summary that pulls together, interprets, and logically arranges the current state of knowledge on a subject that others have been researching. It can be done as an introduction to one's own research, or it can be presented as a stand alone paper. Have a look at the video above to get a clear understanding of how to write your literature review.

How do I...?

Librarian

Hany Hosny

Subjects: Health & Human Performance, Languages, Sociology

INQ-300: Silent Crisis of Mental Health (Dr. Schlegel): .

Issues in Adolescent Health (INQ-260)