Research Guides: Psychology Research Guide: Home

Electronic Journals and Encyclopedia for Psychology

The links below lead you to thousands of journal and encyclopedia articles. Feel free to call us at 375-2295 if you need help navigating these or any other databases.

PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
PsycArticles is a a collection of professional literature of psychology. It contains full text access to more than 100 journals in behavioral science and related fields. Available from APA through EBSCO
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO links you to abstracts of more than 3.6 million records, covering psychology back to its underpinnings in the 17th century (which you can pursue further through inter-library loan for full text) Available from APA through EBSCO.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with full-text periodicals, peer-reviewed journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. It features PDF content going back as far as 1887.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature (subset of "Academic Search Complete") -- provides indexing for > 3,000 journals with more than 2.3 million records.
Films on Demand Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
A web-based streaming media platform that permits one to view videos online from Films Media Group anytime, anywhere, 24/7. Thousands of videos are available for in-class use and remote viewing from the library, in the dorm, or at home.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text journals, many back to the original issue. Provides access to journals in the arts & sciences, business, ecology & botany, and languages & literature. JSTOR's coverage typically begins 3 -5 years after the current year.
OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Contains full text of articles from over 2,500 publications, and indexing and abstracts from nearly 3,600 publications, supporting research in all core undergraduate subjects and for cross-disciplinary work.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Covers today's hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest and most trusted reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Offers a large collection of online scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. Resources are available for reading online, printing, and/or downloading and using off-line.
Social Science Index This link opens in a new window
indexes professional literature of the social sciences
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Covers the core disciplines in Women?s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research.

Looking for a specific journal? Read this!

The Library's Find a Journal link is listed on the Library's homepage under the research column. If you are off-campus please follow the off-campus link to use Find a Journal. If we do not have full text access to a journal that you are interested in, the option to use our interlibrary loan service is free and convenient!

You can use the Find a Journal database to find a specific title, or browse by subjects. To begin searching for a specific journal, visit our Find a Journal page.

journal finder

Pop psychology: Your Body Language Shapes Who You Are

Reference Items Worth Knowing About

Encyclopedia of Social Psychology by Roy F. Baumeister (Editor); Kathleen D. Vohs (Editor)
ISBN: 1452265682
Publication Date: 2007-08-29
Not long ago, social psychology was a small field consisting of creative, energetic researchers bent on trying to study a few vexing problems in normal adult human behaviour with rigorous scientific methods. In a few short decades, the field has blossomed into a major intellectual force, with thousands of researchers worldwide exploring a stunningly diverse set of fascinating phenomena with an impressive arsenal of research methods and ever-more carefully honed theories. The Encyclopedia of Social Psychology is the first resource to present state-of-the-art research and ready-to-use facts from this fascinating field. These two volumes include more than 600 entries chosen by a diverse team of experts to comprise an exhaustive list of the most important concepts. The Encyclopedia is written for students who may be encountering concepts such as social loafing, deindividuation, base rate fallacy, ego depletion and self-handicapping for the first time and want a simple, clear, jargon-free explanation of what they mean. Key Themes " Action Control " Antisocial Behaviors " Attitude " Culture " Emotions " Evolution " Groups " Health " History " Influence " Interpersonal Relationships " Judgment and Decision Making " Methods " Personality " Prejudice " Problem Behaviors " Prosocial Behaviors " Self " Social Cognition " Subdisciplines
Encyclopedia of Cognitive Psychology by Carla E. Wilhelm (Editor)
ISBN: 9781613245460
Publication Date: 2011-09-01
This book presents current research in the field of cognitive psychology. Topics discussed include a new perspective on human consciousness; cognitive rehabilitation in middle-aged Alzheimer patients; cognitive theory of obsessions; the cognitive effects of anxiety on sexual arousal; conceptual combination; TP-theory as a new perspective on cognitive psychology; peripheral responses elicited by motor imagery and preverbal category formation.
Encyclopedia of Abnormal Psychology by Aleksei Maksimov
Publication Date: 2012-08-01
This book presents current research in the field of abnormal psychology. Topics discussed include self-harm in adolescence and young adulthood; depression and a parenting intervention; a hermeneutic approach to culture and psychotherapy; psychotic symptoms in children and adolescents; treatment approaches to aggressive behavior in schizophrenia; fetal origins of antisocial personality disorder; neurobiology of borderline personality disorder; patterns of interpersonal behaviors and borderline personality characteristics; the psychology of body image and borderline personality and sexual impulsivity.
Research Methods in Psychology by Open Textbook Library
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 1453323600
Publication Date: 2016
While Research Methods in Psychology is fairly traditional— making it easy for you to use with your existing courses — it also emphasizes a fundamental idea that is often lost on undergraduates: research methods are not a peripheral concern in our discipline; they are central.

The overarching goal of this textbook is to present the basics of psychological research methods — focusing on the concepts and skills that are most widely shared within the discipline — emphasizing both their centrality to our field and their contribution to our understanding of human behavior. The book will include several features that will help accomplish this overarching goal.

Endnote. What is it and why should I use it?

What is EndNote?

EndNote is a reference management software that requires a subscription to use. Lucky for you, Roanoke College has a subscription. Create an EndNote account and keep track of your research, manage your bibliographies, and best of all, plug in citations as you write your paper. No more stressing over how to properly cite your sources. It's all done for you!

How to use Endnote This link opens in a new window
No more worrying about citations! This will help you rest assured that you are attributing information accurately in your assignments!
EndNote This link opens in a new window
Search, organize, and share research. Automatically format bibliographies with EndNote's patented "Cite While You Write" tool.