Research Guides: Modern Languages Research Guide: Home

How do I...?

Electronic Journals and Encyclopedia for Modern Languages

The links below lead you to thousands of journal and encyclopedia articles. Hover your mouse over the databases to get descriptions of their coverage. Feel free to call us at 375-2295 if you need help navigating these or any other databases.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A great place to start your research on almost any topic. This is a comprehensive multi-disciplinary full-text database, with full-text periodicals, peer-reviewed journals, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Full text access to numerous sociology journals.
Films on Demand Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
A web-based streaming media platform that permits one to view videos online from Films Media Group anytime, anywhere, 24/7. Thousands of videos are available for in-class use and remote viewing from the library, in the dorm, or at home.
Fuente Academica This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text journals, many back to the original issue. Provides access to journals in the arts & sciences, business, ecology & botany, and languages & literature. JSTOR's coverage typically begins 3 -5 years after the current year.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Access biographies, critical analyses, etc. of more than 120,000 authors from every age and literary discipline. Search by Author Name, Title, Genre, Literary Movement or Literary Themes. A great place to start any literature research project or paper.
MLA International Bibliography with full-text This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s. The database contains millions of citations as well as full text for 1,000 journals.
MedicLatina This link opens in a new window
MedicLatina is a unique collection of medical research and investigatory journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers. This Spanish language database contains full text for 130 peer-reviewed medical journals in native Spanish.
Newsbank This link opens in a new window
Access to more than 400 million current and archived articles from 139 (!) countries and more than 4,700 news sources. For international publications, select "Access World News", then select "the world". Click on the map to select by location.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
A collection of online not-for-profit scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Vente et Gestion This link opens in a new window
Vente et Gestion provides full text coverage for French language business journals serving both the academic and the professional researcher. This collection also includes publications covering topics such as accounting & tax, administration, industry & manufacturing, marketing, logistics, technology and others.

Foreign films worth your while.

Bus 174
ISBN: B00022FW4U
A shocking, hypnotic look at a real-life disaster. In June 2000, an armed gunman hijacked a bus in downtown Rio de Janeiro. An angry, strung-out former street kid, he spent an afternoon threatening his hostages while the lurid drama was broadcast live over the national TV networks. The extensive newsreel footage from this terrible event forms the bulk of Bus 174, but director Jose Padilha takes time to fill in the background, too: the poverty-broken world of the gunmen is detailed, and so is the political situation that led to some ludicrous decision-making on the part of the authorities during the siege. The fact that most viewers outside Brazil don't know how the ordeal ended will add to the suspense, but either way this is a gripping experience. The sight of the crazed hijacker, self-consciously styling his weird version of action-movie villainy, will haunt you long after the film is over.
Copie Conforme
ISBN: B007A9EGG8
What seems at first to be a straightforward tale of two people getting to know each other over the course of an afternoon gradually reveals itself as something richer, stranger, and trickier: a mind-bending reflection on authenticity, in art as well as in relationships. Both cerebrally and emotionally engaging, reminds us that love itself is an enigma.
Ivanovo Detstvo
ISBN: B000PKG6OO
The debut feature from the great Andrei Tarkovsky, Ivan’s Childhood is an evocative, poetic journey through the shadows and shards of one boy’s war-torn youth. Moving back and forth between the traumatic realities of WWII and the serene moments of family life before the conflict began, Tarkovsky’s film remains one of the most jarring and unforgettable depictions of the impact of violence on children in wartime.
Maria Full of Grace
ISBN: B0002TT0MI
Maria, a poor Columbian teenager, is desperate to leave a soul-crushing job. She accepts an offer to transport packets of heroin - which she swallows - to the United States. The ruthless world of drug trafficking proves to be more than she bargained for.
My Life In Pink
ISBN: 0767836626
Ludovic is waiting for a miracle. With six-year-old certainty, he believes he was meant to be a little girl and that the mistake will soon be corrected. But where he expects the miraculous, Ludo finds only rejection, isolation and guilt--as the intense reactions of family, friends, and neighbors strip away every innocent lace and bauble.
Young Goethe in Love
ISBN: B0070YPWAW
In 1772 Germany, the young and tumultuous Johann Goethe aspires to be a poet. After failing his law exams, he is sent by his father to a sleepy provincial court to mend his ways. Unsure of his talent and eager to prove himself, Goethe soon wins the praise and friendship of his superior, Kestner. But then Lotte Buff enters his life and nothing is the same as before. However, the young lovers are unaware that her father has already promised Lotte's hand to another man.
Ran
ISBN: B000BB14YY
An aging warlord decides to split his kingdom between his three sons, who will live in three separate castles. The two eldest sons are quite happy, but the youngest thinks his father has gone mad, and predicts that it won't be long until the two older brothers are fighting with each other.

Endnote. What is it and why should I use it?

What is EndNote?

EndNote is a reference management software that requires a subscription to use. Lucky for you, Roanoke College has a subscription. Create an EndNote account and keep track of your research, manage your bibliographies, and best of all, plug in citations as you write your paper. No more stressing over how to properly cite your sources. It's all done for you!

How to use Endnote This link opens in a new window
No more worrying about citations! This will help you rest assured that you are attributing information accurately in your assignments!
Log in to Endnote This link opens in a new window

Fintel Library. Helping you have fun, too.

We ‘ve got you covered for your fun needs, too! Come to the library ANY time to do these things:

♦ Treat yourself to a CUPS fresh-roasted coffee!

♦ Borrow a camcorder!

♦ Borrow a bicycle to ride during your lunch hour!

♦ Borrow movies for the weekend!

♦ Borrow a data projector to have movie night at home!

♦ Borrow popular sports, fashion, and news magazines!

♦ Sorry, we don't loan out scuba diving gear!

Please be in touch if you have any questions!

Hany Hosny

Subjects: Health & Human Performance, Languages, Sociology