INQ300 The Inclusive Classroom / EDUC371 Field Exp Elem Reading Instr: Books

This anthology provides an interdisciplinary study of multicultural studies in the United States. It centers on how race, gender, ethnicity, sexuality, and cultural diversity are examined and discussed in the academic field of American multicultural studies. It seeks to bring together foundational works of scholars writing within the framework of a fairly new and exciting area of study that develops across disciplines, rather than representing a discipline in itself. Each section of the book will tackle one specific theme. The themes are race, gender, ethnicity, sexuality, and cultural diversity.

To succeed in increasingly diverse classrooms, tomorrow's special educators need explicit training on working effectively with all families. Prepare the next generation of teachers with this accessible text, developed by two highly respected experts on cultural and linguistic diversity and inclusive education. Ideal for use as a supplementary textbook in a wide range of courses related to special education, this book gives educators a practical framework for cultural reciprocity a process that helps professionals and families examine their own values, respect each other's differences, and collaborate skillfully to benefit children.

The term "culture wars" refers to the political and sociological polarisation that has characterised American society the past several decades. This new edition provides an enlightening and comprehensive A-to-Z ready reference, now with supporting primary documents, on major topics of contemporary importance for students, teachers, and the general reader. It aims to promote understanding and clarification on pertinent topics that too often are not adequately explained or discussed in a balanced context. With approximately 640 entries plus more than 120 primary documents supporting both sides of key issues, this is a unique and defining work, indispensable to informed discussions of the most timely and critical issues facing America today.

Many educational professionals agree that the time has come to expand their circle of inclusion and broaden their definition of diversity by increasing LGBTQ studies, but the question of how to do so is still debated. Although some colleges and universities have been incorporating LGBTQ studies for decades, courses and programs continue to be pockets of innovation rather than models of inclusion for all of higher education. Colleges and universities need to encourage faculty members to teach and research a wide range of LGBTQ topics, as well as support student life professionals in building inclusive campus communities.

Challenging behavior is one of the most significant issues educators face. Though it may seem radical to use words like love, compassion, and heart when we talk about behavior and discipline, the compassionate and heartfelt words, actions, and strategies teachers employ in the classroom directly shape who students are-and who they will become. But how can teaching from the heart translate into effective supports and practices for students who exhibit challenging behavior?In From Behaving to Belonging, Julie Causton and Kate MacLeod detail how teachers can shift from a "behavior management" mindset (that punishes students for "bad" behavior or rewards students for "good" or "compliant" behavior) to an approach that supports all students-even the most challenging ones-with kindness, creativity, acceptance, and love. Causton and MacLeod's approach* Focuses on students' strengths, gifts, and talents.* Ignites students' creativity and sense of self-worth.* Ensures that students' social, emotional, and academic needs are met. * Prompts teachers to rethink challenging behavior and how they support their students.* Helps teachers identify barriers to student success in the cultural, social, and environmental landscape.* Inspires teachers to reconnect with their core values and beliefs about students and teaching.We need to transform our classrooms into places of love. To that end, this book represents a paradigm shift from a punitive mindset to a strengths-based, loving approach and encourages the radical act of creating more inclusive and caring schools.

Hollins University book - Request courier service
also available fulltext

Information technology is an integral part of our daily lives, whether in professional, educational, or personal settings. It allows us to interact globally. IT researchers recognize the potential in developing systems that seek to integrate our current knowledge of cultural variations, as IT is well-positioned to support the work of those directly involved in promoting and disseminating culture. The Handbook of Research on Culturally-Aware Information Technology: Perspectives and Models is the first publication of its kind to bring together research contributions from a wide range of IT disciplines, including human-computer interaction, information systems in business and leadership, computational modeling and cultural dynamics, semantic technology and cultural heritage, and e-learning and intelligent tutoring systems. The handbook provides researchers, professors, and students with an in-depth knowledge of the theoretical and technological research conducted in IT with relation to culture.

Through the lens of culture, this work looks at the role of the Internet as a catalyst in transforming communications, politics, and economics... South Korea -- Senegal -- Estonia -- Iran

The international nature of modern Business means that individual and organizational success is no longer dependent solely on business acumen- our ability to understand, communicate and work with people in different countries and cultures around the world is more important than ever as more companies rely on their global reach to achieve the best profit and performance. For this reason, international business and cross-cultural management are key topics in undergraduate business, MBA and executive education programs worldwide as companies and institutions prepare current and future business leaders for the global marketplace.

2021 SPE Outstanding Book Award Honorable Mention ... An edited collection from eleven authors with a wealth of experience teaching in K-12 schools and utilizing culturally relevant practices. This book is current with social justice research and strategies, while connecting to the audience through personal vignettes in each chapter. The personal connection of research supported ideas to help new teachers avoid the authors' early career mistakes in the classroom is at the center of this text. The content is organized into three themes: Inclusive Classrooms, Curriculum Implementation, and Professionalism. Reflection questions are provided at the end of each chapter, which will guide the practitioners to self-reflect and plan next steps accordingly

The volume will be a collection of chapters about current theory, research, and practice related to multiculturalism and positive psychology. This book will serve as a reference to any who are interested in the intersection of positive psychology and multicultural context. While many in the field of positive psychology have begun to move more strongly towards a culturally-embedded approach that recognizes the importance of context in discussing, viewing and cultivating strengths in individuals from different backgrounds, there is still a dearth of research in this area compared with studies that take a cross-cultural approach (comparing people from different countries) or one that is purported to be "culture-free" or universal in its application.

By 2040, more than 30 percent of students in the United States will be immigrants or the children of immigrants. What factors can help these young people thrive in school, despite the many obstacles they face? And how can school staff best support immigrant students' academic and personal success?

Teachers, students and bilingual teaching assistants looking for resources and activities to help raise achievement among minority ethnic pupils and develop a multicultural perspective will find this book indispensable. Included in this practical and accessible volume are a wide variety of activities; examples of materials and photocopiable sheets for direct use in the classroom, which can be easily adapted for different learning situations; tried and tested examples of good practice; practical strategies to help bilingual pupils develop their language skills; guidance on partnership teaching and working with bilingual classroom assistants; and advice on raising the achievement of bilingual pupils from disadvantaged groups.

Higher education institutions continue to address an increasingly complex set of issues regarding equity, diversity and inclusion. Many institutions face mounting pressure to find innovative solutions to eliminate access, participation, and achievement barriers as well as practices that impede retention and graduation rates in higher education. This volume provides educators with a global understanding of the challenges associated with the growing diversity of student identities in higher education and provides evidence-based strategies for addressing the challenges associated with implementing equity and inclusion at different higher education institutions around the world.

Analysis and case studies show that including different orientations toward the natural world makes for more effective scientific practice and science education. The answers to scientific questions depend on who's asking, because the questions asked and the answers sought reflect the cultural values and orientations of the questioner. These values and orientations are most often those of Western science.

Winner of AM&P EXCEL Bronze Award Your Students, My Students, Our Students explores the hard truths of current special education practice and outlines five essential disruptions to the status quo. Authors Lee Ann Jung, Nancy Frey, Douglas Fisher, and Julie Kroener show you how to - Establish a school culture that champions equity and inclusion.