History Research Guide: Home

The collection also contains award-winning documentaries, featuring dramatic reenactments and engaging analysis from prominent scholars and experts. Early newsreels, including the complete series of United Newsreel and Universal Newsreel capture history as it was made and reported to viewers of the time.

"Ancestry Library Edition is a new genealogy research tool created for the library market and provides patrons instant access to a wide range of unique resources for genealogical and historical research. With more than 1.5 billion names in over 4,000 databases, Ancestry Library Edition includes records from the United States Census; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more! These collections are continuously expanding, with new content added every business day." -- Ancestry.com is only available on campus.

dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997.

Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.

Covers the core disciplines in Women?s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research.

Northern Scotland is a cross-disciplinary publication which addresses historical, cultural, economic, political and geographical themes relating to the Highlands and Islands and the north-east of Scotland.

" digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.

The University Library of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill sponsors Documenting the American South, and the texts and materials come primarily from its southern holdings. The UNC University Library is committed to the long-term availability of these collections and their online records. An editorial board guides development of this digital library."

Global in scope, the archive presents materials covering the social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives and offers a look at the roles, experiences, and achievements of women in society. A wide range of primary sources provide a close look at some of the pioneers of women's history, a deep dive into the issues that have affected women, and the many contributions they have made to society.

features “comprehensive coverage of the Hispanic American experience from the early 18th century to the present day. Sourced from more than 17,000 publications, including 700 Spanish-language newspapers and periodicals. An easy-to-use online resource—updated daily with new material—that illuminates centuries of Hispanic history, culture, and daily life.”

A resource that "brings together materials from various archives and libraries throughout the world documenting colonial rule, dispersion of exiles, international intervention, and the worldwide networks that supported successive generations of resistance within the region."

A primary source collection with content sourced from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 current and historical Black publications.

The collection “brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world.” Included are English-language legal commentaries on slavery published before 1920, pamphlets and books on slavery from the 19th century, Congressional debates from the Continental Congress to 1880, modern histories of slavery, and modern law review articles on the subject.

As a module within the History Commons Platform, Accessible Archives includes: African American Newspapers, African American Newspapers in the South, American County Histories, American Inventor, Anatomy of Protest in America, Colonial Newspapers, Frank Leslie’s Weekly, Godey’s Lady’s Book, and more.

" ... offers a documentary history of the Colonial Americans in the twentieth century, presenting North American thought, culture, and society through a variety of perspectives. Focused on American concerns, they were predominantly published in the U.S., Canada, and by Americans living abroad. From long-running publications to ephemeral titles, each periodical offers a cross-section of the developing United States."

The ProQuest Historical New York Times (1851 - 2013) w/ Index (1851-1993) historical newspaper collection provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times.

The Newspapers.com -Southeast Collection archive offers historical coverage to full page newspaper images with searchable full-text for millions of pages of historical newspapers (1766 -2023) in the southeastern region of the United States.