Research Guides: ENST 240 Environmental Justice: Home

Databases

Unsure about a source? Go to Ulrich's Periodicals Index and check whether it's refereed.

http://ulrichsweb.serialssolutions.com/

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with full-text periodicals, peer-reviewed journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. It features PDF content going back as far as 1887.
Agricola This link opens in a new window
Search the catalog of the National Agricultural Library to identify books, book chapters, and/or journal articles that you can interlibrary loan, or browse by topic for recommended websites. (includes links to the NAL Thesaurus, and to their Glossary)
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers environmental issues
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Replaces Dow Jones Interactive, Company & Industry Reports, Stock Information, Business Newstand & Publications Library - quotes, market data, analysis, international news, fulltext articles from newspapers and periodicals
Films on Demand Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
A web-based streaming media platform that permits one to view videos online from Films Media Group anytime, anywhere, 24/7. Thousands of videos are available for in-class use and remote viewing from the library, in the dorm, or at home.
Greenfile This link opens in a new window
Includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text journals, many back to the original issue. Provides access to journals in the arts & sciences, business, ecology & botany, and languages & literature. JSTOR's coverage typically begins 3 -5 years after the current year.
Newsbank This link opens in a new window
Full text access and image access to more thank 10,000 newspapers from the U.S. and worldwide. Access includes both historical and current day's news which includes the Roanoke Times, from 1990 to the current day.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Offers a large collection of online scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. Resources are available for reading online, printing, and/or downloading and using off-line.
SocINDEX with full text This link opens in a new window
Sociology, contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908.

Electronic Reference works

Atlas of Climate Change
Reflects the latest developments in research and the impact of climate change, and in current efforts to mitigate and adapt to changes in the worlds weather.

Encyclopedia of Ecology and Environmental Management This link opens in a new window
Provides a complete guide to the core definitions and issues associated with pure and applied ecology.
Dictionary of Environment and Conservation This link opens in a new window
over 9,000 A to Z entries on scientific and social aspects of the environment?its key thinkers, treaties, movements, organizations, concepts, and theories. Covering subjects such as sustainable development, biodiversity, and environmental ethics, this is the ideal reference for students of environment and conservation, as well as for professionals in the field.

Oxford Companion to Global Change
up-to-date, comprehensive, interdisciplinary guide to the range of issues surrounding natural and human-induced changes in the Earth's environment. The Companion brings together current knowledge about the relations between technological, social, demographic, economic, and political factors as well as biological, chemical, and physical systems. It is an essential reference work for students, teachers, researchers, and other professionals seeking to understand any aspect of global change.