Research Guides: INQ 270 The SiIk Road: Articles and Books

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with full-text periodicals, peer-reviewed journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. It features PDF content going back as far as 1887.
Dissertations and Theses Global (Full-text from Proquest) This link opens in a new window
dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
If Fintel Library subscribes to the database or journal where the article was published, Google Scholar will link you to the full-text content.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes all data from Humanities International Index(more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full text content.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text journals, many back to the original issue. Provides access to journals in the arts & sciences, business, ecology & botany, and languages & literature. JSTOR's coverage typically begins 3 -5 years after the current year.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Offers a large collection of online scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. Resources are available for reading online, printing, and/or downloading and using off-line.

Primary Sources

Historical primary sources generally emanate from the time period being explored. These materials are usually first hand observations of events occurring at the time. Such items may be manuscripts, objects, news articles, diaries, etc. For those materials in other languages written at the time, translations may be considered as primary sources. Consult your faculty member whether you may include these in your research.

Search Strategies

The same search will generally work across different platforms including:

Internet search engines (if interested in special collections, manuscripts or archives holding sources try adding one of those terms to the search)
Individual databases
And the library’s search tool

"silk road" women (or other topic)

("silk road" OR "trade route") india

nestorian* christian* "silk road"

"han dynasty" special collections site:.edu

(commerce OR trade) asia dynastic influences

Instruction & Research Services Librarian

Elizabeth G. McClenney

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

220 High Street
Salem, VA 24153

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Education, Government Documents, Religion & Philosophy