Research Guides: Education 250: Teaching, Learning &amp; Cognition: Resources in Fintel Library

Books about Exceptional students: for children & their teachers

Adam's alternative sports day
Autism (112 pages)
Because of Winn-Dixie
Children's book about Intellectual disabilities (182 pages)
(2000)
Bringing Nettie back
TBI (Brain injury) - 135 pages
The Bus people
Intellectual disabilities (102 pages)

Clara and Davie: the true story of young Clara Barton... by Polacco, Patricia
Publication Date: 2014
Lisp (32 pages)

Crazy lady
Children's book about Intellectual disabilities (180 pages)
(1993)
Cruise control
Orthopedic impairments (149 pages)
Cut
Emotional / Behavioral disorders (168 pages)
Deaf child crossing
Communication disorders (200 pages)
Dicey's song
Children's book about Learning disabilities (196 pages)
(1982)
The Five of us / Blake
Children's book about 5 fantastic friends, each of whom has an unusual ability. (26 pages)
Great Gilly Hopkins
Children's book about Blind/Visual disorders (148 pages)
(1978)
How many days until tomorrow?
Learning disabilities (162 pages)
I am an artichoke
Emotional / Behavioral disorders (187 pages)
I am deaf (2009)
Children's book (35 pages)
Jackson Whole Wyoming
Autism (142 pages)
Joey Pigza loses control
Children's book about ADD/ADHD. (195 pages)
Joey Pigza swallowed the key
Children's book about ADD/ADHD (153 pages)
ADHD living without brakes / by Martin Kutscher
[eBook]
more...less...
This concise and highly accessible book contains everything that parents and busy professionals need to know about ADHD.
Kissing doorknobs
Emotional / Behavioral disorders (149 pages)
Life magic
Learning disabilities (116 pages)
Little women next door
Communication disorders (188 pages)
Nathan's wish
Orthopedic impairments (32 pages)
Nick's mission
Communication disorders (148 pages)
Panda: a guide horse for Ann (who is blind) (2005)
Children's book (48 pages)
The Reason I jump: the inner voice of a 13-year-old boy with autism
Right dog for the job: Ira's path from service dog to guide dog
Children's book (2004)
Rules
Autism (200 pages)
Seizure-alert dogs (2010)
Children's book (32 pages)
Shiniest rock of all
Communication disorders (80 pages)
Sparks
Intellectual disabilities (119 pages)
Special people, special ways / Maguire (2000)
This children's book describes the many ways people differ, and teaches tolerance.
Splash of red: the life & art of Horace Pippin
Orthopedic impairments [32 pages]
Stuck in neutral
Orthopedic impairments (112 pages)
Summer school, what genius thought that up?
Learning disabilities (156 pages)
Taking visual impairment to school / Steingold (2004)
This children's book has supplementary material at the end - "Ten tips for Teachers" , "Additional Resources for teachers" , "Let's take the kids quiz"
Tending to Grace
Children's book about Communication Disorders (175 pages)
(2004)
Things not seen
Children's book about Blind/Visual disorders (251 pages)
(2002)
Up and down the worry hill: a children's book about obsessive-compulsive disorder and its treatment
Yolonda's Genius
Autism (211 pages)
ENCYCLOPEDIAS, HANDBOOKS, & TEACHER GUIDES *******************************************************************************
Dictionary of medical syndromes, 4th ed. (1997) / Magalini
Ref. RC69 .M33 1997
Encyclopedia of Diversity in Education (2012) / Banks
Ready Ref. LC1099 .E53 2012
Encyclopedia of Special Education, 4th ed. (2015) / Reynolds
Available BOTH online, and in print (Ref. LC 4007 .E53 2007 )
Magill's Medical Guide, 7th ed. (2014)
Ref. RC41 .M34 2014
Psychology of classroom learning, an encyclopedia (2009) / Anderman
Ref. LB1060 .P89 2009

Breaking through: using educational technology for children with special needs by Albers Hill
Call Number: LC4024 .H55 2014 [General Collection]
Publication Date: 2014
Effective teacher's guide to behavioural and emotional disorders disruptive behaviour disorders, anxiety disorders, depressive disorders and attention deficit hyperactivity disorder by Farrell, Michael
Call Number: [e-book]
Publication Date: 2011
Effective teacher's guide to sensory and physical impairments sensory, orthopaedic, motor and health impairments, and traumatic brain injury by Farrell
Call Number: [eBook]
Publication Date: 2011
Everybody Belongs by Shapiro
Call Number: [eBook]
Publication Date: 2000
see Chapter 6 for Activities to help students understand a classmate's disability
Hidden in plain sight: 7 common signs of dyslexia in the classroom by Learning Ally
Call Number: [e-Document]
Publication Date: 2014?
History of special education : a struggle for equality in American public schools by Osgood, Robert L
Call Number: [eBook]
Publication Date: 2008
Praeger handbook of special education
Call Number: [eBook]
Publication Date: 2007
Sharing the blue crayon : how to integrate social, emotional, and literacy learning by Buckley
Call Number: LB1073 .B83 2015
Storybook journey by McCord
Call Number: LB1139.5.L58 M33 1995 [General Collection]
Publication Date: 1995
see: Chapter 5. Section "Inclusion of all children", pages 60-63,
as well as Chapter 9. "Little passengers on life's journey: using stories to ease transitions and difficult experiences
What successful mentors do by Hicks
Call Number: LB1731.4 .H53 2005 [General Collection]
Publication Date: 2005
see especially Chapter 7: Supporting new teachers as they develop a variety of strategies for helping at-risk and special needs students succeed

Subject Guide

Elizabeth G. McClenney

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

220 High Street
Salem, VA 24153

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Education, Government Documents, Religion & Philosophy