INQ 110: Can Music Change the World?: Web Sites

The Alan Lomax Archive, a priceless collection of recorded music, dance, and the spoken word. The Association for Cultural Equality's mission is to facilitate cultural equity. They preserve, publish, repatriate and freely disseminate their collections.

Thousands of hours of international field recordings housed in the Alan Lomax Archive will now reach audiences through Global Jukebox, the Archive's first independent music imprint.

An eclectic collection of music from Americans of diverse origins and all walks of life, from America’s past and present. The songs are by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. They touch topics as varied as Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more. And the range of genres includes country, folk, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, shape note singing, doo-wop, Motown, R&B, soul, funk, and others.

The Digital Library of Appalachia compiles and records archival and historical resources pertaining to the southern and central Appalachian region’s culture. The materials of the DLA’s contents are provided by the Appalachian College Association member libraries special collections.

A how-to guide to fieldwork for the folklorist.

The largest archive of African music in sub-Saharan Africa, recordings go back as far as 1929.

The Archive now holds the largest such collection in existence, with coverage of the island of Ireland, of areas of Irish settlement abroad (especially in Britain, North America and Australia), and of non-Irish performers of Irish traditional music. A representative collection of the traditional music of other countries is also being made.

Cape Breton Gaelic songs recorded by Leach, including milling songs, psalm precenting, homeland songs, love songs, and locally composed songs, and war songs. Also includes many genres of song in Newfoundland such as comic songs, ballads, cumulative or enumerative songs, and shanties. He also collected a number of instrumental dance tunes.

The Library of Congress presents the National Jukebox, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives.

produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection provides educators, students, and interested listeners with an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms.

Music collections, exhibits, and other educational tools.

The SEM website offers a wide range of information pertaining to our organization, its members, and the field of ethnomusicology.

“The best roots-based music from across the world - with live sessions from the biggest international names and the freshest emerging talent, classic tracks and new releases.”

“Discover the world with music. Join local experts for a sonic journey around the globe.”

Landmark limited series “about the history of country music made in the 20th century,” which ran from 2017 to 2022 and is available for listening.

“Fun, irreverent and educational weekly podcast that digs deep into the stories of musical legends and cultural icons in a way that only Questlove and Team Supreme can deliver.”

“Award-winning anthology of some of the greatest music stories never truly told. Top journalists present stand-alone audio documentaries that highlight music’s head, heart and beat.” (Los Angeles NPR)

“The Times's pop music team on music news, new songs and albums, and artists of note.”

Latest news and stories from National Public Radio, including the a broad range of features, “Best of” lists, and its Tiny Desk Concerts.

“A podcast where musicians take apart their songs, and piece by piece, tell the story of how they were made.”

“Host Yasi Salek invites experts to explain cult bands and iconic artists – and why people love them – using a curated playlist to help you understand the hype. New episodes every Thursday, only on Spotify.”

Since its founding, in 1925, The New Yorker has evolved from a Manhattan-centric “fifteen-cent comic paper”—as its first editor, Harold Ross, put it—to a multi-platform publication known worldwide for its in-depth reporting, political and cultural commentary, fiction, poetry, and humor. The weekly magazine is complemented by newyorker.com, a daily source of news and cultural coverage, plus an expansive audio division, an award-winning film-and-television arm, and a range of live events featuring people of note.

(Articles may be searched and accessed through Factiva in the library's databases.) The New York Times (NYT) is an American daily newspaper, founded and continuously published in New York City since September 18, 1851. It has won 112 Pulitzer Prizes, more than any other news organization.

(Articles may be searched and accessed through Factiva in the library's databases.) The Washington Post is an award-winning news leader whose mission is to connect, inform, and enlighten local, national and global readers with trustworthy reporting, in-depth analysis and engaging opinions.

(Articles may be searched and accessed through Factiva in the library's databases.) The Los Angeles Times is the largest metropolitan daily newspaper in the country, with more than 40 million unique latimes.com visitors monthly, Sunday print readership of 1.6 million and a combined print and online local weekly audience of 4.4 million. The Pulitzer Prize-winning Times has been covering Southern California for more than 142 years.