It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning. They include written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
Library of Congress Archive of historic newspapers. 1836-1922. Search "commencement student" and you will get tons of results, but some are very interesting. "No Student Commencement Speakers" is the headline in Berkeley on April 16, 1898
From the website: "The Cornell University Library Making of America Collection is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints."
Margaret Herrick Library Digital Collections is an online database that provides public access to digitized materials from the collections of the Margaret Herrick Library. Currently, the database contains more than 3000 items, including correspondence, photographs, early release fliers, full issues of rare periodicals, sheet music and movie star ephemera. The database also includes complete copies of more than 250 Academy publications, dating back to the founding of the organization in 1927.
Pennsylvania Gazette, Virginia Gazette, South Carolina Newspapers, Pennsylvania Newspapers, Civil War Newspapers, African American Newspapers, The Liberator, Godey's Ladys Book 1830-1880, American County Histories, Pennsylvania Genealogical Catalogue
Full text journals, many back to the original issue. Contains both Arts & Sciences and the Language & Literature Collection. Try searching using the terms student commencement speech*and you will get some commencement programs that mention speeches (1913) or commentary on programs.
1890-1982 provides indexing of over three million articles from more than 550 leading magazines, including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature™. Some full text but mostly citations.
The ProQuest Historical New York Times (1851 - 2013) w/ Index (1851-1993) historical newspaper collection provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times.
The ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post (1877 - 2001) provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
The Newspapers.com -Southeast Collection archive offers access to full page newspaper images with searchable full-text for millions of pages of historical newspapers in the southeastern region of the United States
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times (1881 - 2011)"... provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time."