Home - INQ-260PH - Puff, Sip & Toke - Research Guides at Roanoke College

Resources

Family-Focused Interventions to Prevent Substance Use Disorders in Adolescence by National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine; Division of Behavioral and Social Sciences and Education; Board on Children, Youth, and Families; Megan Snair (Editor)
ISBN: 9780309691932

Publication Date: 2022-11-20

Adolescence is a crucial period of life for the prevention of substance use disorders. Research has shown that early intervention can significantly reduce rates of substance use disorder in adulthood. To learn more about effective family-focused interventions in primary care settings for preventing substance use disorder, the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine hosted a workshop on May 5-6, 2022. The proceedings from that workshop explores existing efforts to incorporate family-focused interventions into state health care policies. It also examines barriers to implementing such interventions as well as lessons learned from successful efforts to scale up these interventions.
The Prescription Drug Abuse Epidemic
ISBN: 9781440852640

Publication Date: 2018-06-21

This overview of prescription drug abuse includes historical background, key concepts, and discussion of the prevalence of drug abuse, treatments, and policy issues implicated in ending the epidemic. Prescription opioid medication abuse has been declared a national crisis by experts in medicine, substance use, public health, and pain management, culminating in a declaration made by the President of the United States that opioid misuse and abuse is a national health emergency. In this comprehensive text, expert scholars analyze and address a wide range of issues in, obstacles to, and potential solutions for this emergency, which caused more than 50,000 deaths in 2016 alone. It covers a variety of topics related to prescription misuse from both clinical and academic perspectives. After an opening containing background material on the most commonly misused medications, chapters examine subgroups engaged in misuse and special medical environments where misuse issues are key. They then cover U.S. policy, perspectives outside the U.S., and theories that may explain the misuse phenomena. This book will serve as a resource for students and professionals in fields related to prescription drug abuse--including psychology, sociology, medicine, and public policy--and is accessible to individuals not trained in these fields.
Sex, Gender and Substance Use by Lorraine Greaves
ISBN: 978-3-0365-0201-4

Publication Date: 2022

“Sex, Gender and Substance Use” describes how both biological and social factors affect people's use of substances. There is a lot of research carried out on substance use, prevention and treatment in which sex and gender are missing. This book describes the concepts of sex and gender, what they mean and why including them in substance use research, practice and policy is vital. Substances such as alcohol, drugs, nicotine, and tobacco all have differential effects on females and males. Social and cultural gendered factors affect how women and men react to prevention, treatment and policies. The book includes numerous examples of how sex- and gender-sensitive research can increase our understanding and improve prevention and treatment, and why striving for gender-transformative substance use practice and research remains a gold standard.
Substance Use Disorder - New Research Perspectives in the Diagnosis, Treatment, and Prognosis
ISBN: 9781803562759

Adolescent substance abuse is a problem worldwide. This book provides a comprehensive overview of this issue with a special focus on alcohol abuse. Chapters discuss the biological, social, and environmental risk factors of substance abuse in adolescents, behavioral and pharmacological interventions to prevent or reduce the negative effects of substance abuse, psychological disorders associated with drug abuse, and much more.
Treating Adolescents with Substance Use Disorders by Oscar G. Bukstein
ISBN: 9781462537860

Publication Date: 2019-07-26

From a leading addiction specialist, this highly practical book explores what works in treating adolescents. Oscar G. Bukstein answers the clinician's vital question: "What do I do now?" He describes best practices for enhancing youths' motivation for change, teaching a variety of recovery skills, and implementing parent management training and parent-adolescent problem solving. The book covers ways to foster a prosocial peer network and to address mental health problems that co-occur with substance use disorders (SUDs). Clinicians can combine the strategies into an integrated approach or pick and choose depending on the needs of individual clients. Reproducible handouts and worksheets can be downloaded and printed in a convenient 8 1/2" x 11" size.
Youth and Their Families by Julie Anne Laser-Maira; David Blair; Jamie Blair Echevarria; Darin Wallis; Orion Castro; Jason Conger
ISBN: 9780190079406

Publication Date: 2019-10-02

Though a number of books covering adolescent substance abuse are available, there are very few resources that explore the topic in the context of Family Systems Therapy (FST). Youth and Their Families offers an expanded view of the therapeutic process with a specific focus on the relationship between therapists, adolescents, families, communities, and substance use. By applying an FST lens, the clinician learns to view their client as an entire family system being affected by adolescent substance abuse. Furthermore, FST can be used at every stage of the substance abuse intervention continuum (from prevention to intervention) to provide increased functioning and strength in the family system. This book incorporates easily applicable clinical skill acquisition with the use of lively cases to give the reader requisite skills to be an effective family systems therapist.

Adolescent Health, Medicine and Therapeutics
An international, peer reviewed, open access journal focusing on health, pathology, and treatment issues specific to the adolescent age group, including health issues affecting young people with cancer. Original research, reports, editorials, reviews, commentaries and adolescent-focused clinical trial design are welcomed.
All aspects of health maintenance, preventative measures, disease treatment interventions, studies investigating the poor outcomes for some treatments in this group of patients, and the challenges when transitioning from adolescent to adult care are addressed within the journal.
Archives of Disease in Childhood
This journal may feature research on early interventions for adolescent substance use, highlighting promising approaches like individually delivered, multi-session treatments.
Journal of Adolescent Health
The Journal of Adolescent Health is a multidisciplinary scientific Journal dedicated to improving the health and well-being of adolescents and young adults. The Journal publishes new research findings in the field of Adolescent and Young Adult Health and Medicine ranging from the basic biological and behavioral sciences to public health and policy. We seek original manuscripts, brief reports, review articles, clinical case reports, letters to the editor, and commentaries from our colleagues in Anthropology, Education, Ethics, Global Health, Health Services Research, Law, Medicine, Mental and Behavorial Health, Nursing, Nutrition, Psychology, Public Health and Policy, Social Work, Sociology, Youth Development, and other disciplines that work with or are committed to improving the health and well-being of adolescents and young adults. In addition we seek poetry, personal narratives, images, and other creative works from young people, family and community members, and health professionals that deepen our insights into the lived experiences of adolescents and young adults in a way that can augment scientific peer-reviewed research.
The Journal is the official publication of the Society for Adolescent Health and Medicine (SAHM), a multidisciplinary organization committed to improving the health and well-being of adolescents and young adults. One of the Society's primary goals is the development, synthesis, and dissemination of scientific and scholarly knowledge unique to the health needs of young people. To meet this goal, the Society established The Journal of Adolescent Health in 1980.
Journal of Child & Adolescent Substance Abuse
This journal provides a forum for research and practice-focused articles on the assessment, prevention, and treatment of substance use in children and adolescents.

Opposing Viewpoints Launchpad for Drug Abuse
This resource justifies having its own tab on this page! A tremendous collection of viewpoints, academic articles, magazine articles, statistics, videos, etc. on the subject of drug abuse in society.
Opposing Viewpoints Launchpad for Club Drugs
Explore the views and data on club drugs and their role in youth culture.

National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)
• NIDA is a primary resource for research on drug abuse and addiction, offering a wealth of information tailored for researchers, healthcare providers, youth, parents, and teachers.
• Their website provides up-to-date research findings, statistics, and resources on adolescent substance use, prevention strategies, and treatment methods.
• NIDA's strategic plan highlights understanding drug effects on brain development and leveraging longitudinal studies for interventions as key areas of focus.
• They also provide resources for specific substances like cannabis (marijuana) and address the concerning rise in overdose deaths caused by fentanyl contamination.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)
• SAMHSA is a significant source for publications, downloadable resources, and mobile applications focusing on substance misuse and related mental health conditions in youth and young adults.
• Their Evidence-Based Practices Resource Center provides communities and clinicians with tools and information to implement effective, evidence-based practices.
• SAMHSA offers programs like "Talk. They Hear You." to help parents and caregivers discuss substance use with their children.
• SAMHSA also provides details on various grants and initiatives aimed at preventing and reducing substance misuse among adolescents.
American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP)
• AACAP offers a comprehensive Substance Use Resource Center providing information on substance use, its consequences, and treatment options for teenagers.
• They also publish practice parameters on assessing and treating childhood and adolescent substance use disorders, reflecting the complex nature of these issues.
• Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Provides information on underage drinking and youth high-risk drug use.
American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP)
Makes recommendations about routine screening for substance use during preventive care visits, especially when risk factors or related health issues are present.
The Cochrane Library
Offers systematic reviews on the effectiveness of various interventions, including those for adolescent alcohol abuse.

Talk. They Hear You.
This podcast, brought to you by SAMHSA, is specifically designed to help parents have open and honest conversations with their children about the risks associated with underage drinking and drug use. It offers practical tips and guidance on how to approach these sensitive topics and create a supportive environment for young people.
The Hopestream Podcast
Brenda Zane, the host of Hopestream, offers a supportive and informative platform for parents dealing with adolescent substance misuse. The podcast features interviews with experts, parents, and individuals in recovery, providing a blend of professional advice and personal experiences. It also offers resources and support for parents navigating the challenges of their child's substance use.
Kids' Wellness Matters
This podcast, produced by Lurie Children's, provides expert insights into teenage substance use, covering topics like prevention, intervention, and treatment. It's a valuable resource for parents seeking information and guidance from a trusted pediatric institution.

Steps in the research process.

Keyword Searches Made Simple.

What's an annotated bibliography?

Writing your literature review.

Citing Your Sources.

AMA Manual of Style
Online (10th) edition of the AMA Manual, with additional features such as a conversion calculator, style quizzes, etc. Note that you will need to create an account to make use of the features and functionality.
AMA Style
"This resource discusses references page formatting for the American Medical Association (AMA) style sheet. AMA was developed by the American Medical Association for the purpose of writing medical research."
OWL Purdue ASA Style Guide
Covers American Sociological Association (ASA) style and includes information about manuscript formatting, in-text citations, formatting the references page, and accepted manuscript writing style. The bibliographical format described here is taken from the American Sociological Association (ASA) Style Guide, 5th edition.
OWL Purdue APA Style Guide
APA (American Psychological Association) style is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition, second printing of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page. For more information, please consult the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, (6th ed., 2nd printing).

Academic Search Complete
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with full-text periodicals, peer-reviewed journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. It features PDF content going back as far as 1887.
Alt Health Watch
focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
Consumer Health Complete
Designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics.
Google Scholar
If Fintel Library subscribes to the database or journal where the article was published, Google Scholar will link you to the full-text content.
JSTOR
Full text journals, many back to the original issue. Provides access to journals in the arts & sciences, business, ecology & botany, and languages & literature. JSTOR's coverage typically begins 3 -5 years after the current year.
Newsbank
Full text access and image access to more thank 10,000 newspapers from the U.S. and worldwide. Access includes both historical and current day's news which includes the Roanoke Times, from 1990 to the current day.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Covers today's hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration.
Sage Publications
more than 1,000 journals, from a wide range of disciplines including: Business & Management, Cardiology & Cardiovascular Medicine, Clinical Medicine & Surgery, Communication & Media Studies, Criminology, Education, Engineering & Materials Science, Geography, Health & Nursing, Neurology & Neuroscience, Orthopaedics & Sports Medicine, Pharmacology, Toxicology & Pathology, Politics & International Relations, Psychiatry, Psychology & Counselling, Religion