It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Globalisation and the Rule of Law reassesses the idea of the 'rule of law' within the present complex and increasingly internationalized environment. There have been many books studying the phenomenon of globalization and its economic, social or cultural consequences. This book, however, is the first to relate globalization exclusively to law. It examines the impact of globalization upon the rule of law, a fundamental value within liberal democratic sovereign states. The book opens with three chapters discussing the theory of the rule of law and its necessary reconceptualization in a global environment. Then, in three sections considering global trade, security and human rights, it proposes new ways of thinking about global law and its application in new and existing institutions of global governance. Contributors include top-flight academics, politicians and judges, making this book significant and relevant in both jurisprudential theory and political practice.
Welcome to the Global Problems Need the Rule of Law LibGuide!
Please navigate this LibGuide by using the tabs at the top.
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with full-text periodicals, peer-reviewed journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. It features PDF content going back as far as 1887.
Full text journals, many back to the original issue. Provides access to journals in the arts & sciences, business, ecology & botany, and languages & literature. JSTOR's coverage typically begins 3 -5 years after the current year.
This database contains full text for more than 250 of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals. Legal Collection is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world.
"Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790." Users will find full-text legal, business, medical, and news sources in Nexis Uni.
Through a reappraisal of rule of law and democracy the contributors provide for a fresh set of inquiries, from the State, consolidated and transitional democracies, to interstate, European and global scenarios. They converge in tackling empirical and normative questions, and suggest further connections between rule of law and democracy.
In this contribution to the ongoing debate over the origins of constitutionalism and free government, Sandoz brings together a selection of scholars to present a reevaluation of the place of Magna Carta and Ancient Constitution in the tradition of Anglo-American liberty and rule of law.
The Culture of Judicial Independence: Rule of Law and World Peace, is the third book by Shimon Shetreet on Judicial Independence. The first was Judicial Independence: The Contemporary Debate (edited by Shimon Shetreet and Jules Deschenes, Nijhoff,1985). The second was The Culture of Judicial Independence: Conceptual Foundations and Practical Challenges (Edited by Shimon Shetreet and Christopher Forsyth, Nijhoff, 2012). This volume contains essays by senior academics, judges and practitioners across jurisdictions offering an analysis of several central issues relative to the culture of Judicial Independence. These include judicial review, human rights, democracy, the rule of law and world peace, constitutional position of top courts, relations between the judiciary and the other branches of government, impartiality and fairness of the judicial process, judicial ethics, dispute resolution in arbitral awards and international investments, international courts and cross country issues, judicial selection. The volume also offers an update report on the International Project of Judicial Independence of the International Association of Judicial Independence and World Peace, including the relations of top courts and international courts, administrative judges, culture of judicial independence and public inquiries by judges.