Research Guides: Biology: Books

Online Book & Journal Collections

National Academies of Science, Engineering, Medicine This link opens in a new window
"... publishes the reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine, providing authoritative, independently-researched information on important matters in science and health policy."
Netlibrary E-books from Ebsco This link opens in a new window
Contains a large selection of multidisciplinary e-book titles across a broad range of academic disciplines.
Open Stax (Textbooks) This link opens in a new window
"OpenStax is a nonprofit educational initiative based at Rice University. ... Using OpenStax is simple! [For faculty] Review the textbook online, and if you decide to use it in your class, let us know. To access faculty-only materials, you can create an OpenStax account and request faculty access. Once we manually verify that you’re an instructor, you will have access to all faculty content. Include the textbook URL in your course materials, and from there, students can choose how they want to view the book.
If you’re a student, simply access the web view, download a PDF, or purchase a hard copy via Amazon or your campus. Even students whose professors have not adopted OpenStax are welcome to use OpenStax textbooks"
Open Textbook Library This link opens in a new window
"Open textbooks are textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization.
The Open Textbook Library is supported by the Center for Open Education and the Open Textbook Network."
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Offers a large collection of online scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. Resources are available for reading online, printing, and/or downloading and using off-line.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Offers access to thousands of journal articles and 22,000+ online books and major reference works. Subject areas include: Agriculture, Aquaculture & Food Science
Architecture & Planning, Art & Applied, Business, Economics, Finance & Accounting, Chemistry, Computer Science & Information Technology, Earth, Space & Environmental Sciences, Humanities, Law & Criminology, Life Sciences, Mathematics & Statistics, Medicine, Nursing, Dentistry & Healthcare, Physical Sciences & Engineering, Psychology, Social & Behavioral Sciences, and Veterinary Medicine.

Reference Books for Biology, Genetics, & Life Sciences

Anatomy, Physiology, and Disease by Jeff J. Ankney; Karen Lee; Bruce J. Colbert
Call Number: R130.3 .C65 2013
ISBN: 9780132865661
Publication Date: 2012-04-17
This engaging, conversational book introduces all the anatomy, physiology, and pathology concepts that students must master to succeed in the health professions. ANATOMY, PHYSIOLOGY, & DISEASE: AN INTERACTIVE JOURNEY FOR HEALTH PROFESSIONS, 2/e is designed to promote true understanding, not mere memorization, and to help students make the lasting connections they need to thrive as practitioners. Throughout, well-placed "Pathology Connections" sections tightly link A&P concepts to pathologic processes. Analogies help students compare the human body to objects and processes they already understand, and illustrations and visual features support the visual learning style many of them prefer. This edition adds new web-based animations, videos, and interactive exercises to its fully integrated website. It also offers an easier-to-navigate text design; enriched illustrations and new photographs; and a new chapter on biochemistry.
Cambridge encyclopedia of Darwin and evolutionary thought by Ruse, Michael
Publication Date: 2013
Available BOTH online, and in Print [ QH360.2 .C36 2013]
Dictionary of cell and molecular biology, 4th edition by Lackie, J. M
Publication Date: 2007
NOTE: the 5th edition (Print) is found at: Ref. QH575 .D55 2013
Dictionary of genetics, 8th edition by King, Robert C
Publication Date: 2013
Encyclopedia of biological invasions by Simberloff, Daniel
Publication Date: 2011
Available BOTH online, and in Print [Ref. QH353 .E53 2011]
Encyclopedia of biotechnology in agriculture and food by Heldman, Dennis R
Call Number: Ref. S494.5.B563 E53 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Encyclopedia of invasive species : from Africanized honey bees to zebra mussels by Woodward, Susan L
Call Number: Ref. QH353 .W66 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Encyclopedia of parasitology, 3rd edition by Mehlhorn, Heinz (editor)
Call Number: Ref. QL757 .E64 2008
Publication Date: 2008
Entomology: Current Status and Future Strategies
Call Number: Online e-book
ISBN: 9789351249405
Publication Date: 2018
The book is divided into seven segments: Insect diversity and conservation, environmental toxicology of insects, insect taxonomy, insect behaviour, medicinal value of insects, Insects as food for human and livestock, and insect pest management
Evolution : the story of life by Palmer, Douglas
Call Number: QH360.2 .P35 2009b
Publication Date: 2009
Evolution wars : a guide to the debates, 2d edition by Ruse, Michael
Publication Date: 2009
Available BOTH online, and in Print: QH361 .R874 2008
Extraordinary animals : an encyclopedia of curious and unusual animals by Piper, Ross
Publication Date: 2007
Genetic Explanations by Sheldon Krimsky; Stuart Newman; Evelyn Fox Keller; Jeremy Gruber; Susan Lindee (Contribution by); Jon Beckwith; Carl F. Cranor; Martha R. Herbert; Mae-Wan Ho (Contribution by); Ruth Hubbard; David S. Moore (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9780674064461
Publication Date: 2013-02-26
Handbook of plant biosecurity : principles and practices for the identification, containment and control of organisms that threaten agriculture and the environment globally by Gordh, Gordon
Call Number: SB601 .H353 2014
Publication Date: 2014
Handbook of research on computational and systems biology: interdisciplinary applications by Liu, Limin Angela
Publication Date: 2011
Kimball's biology pages by Kimball, John W
Publication Date: 1999- current
Magill's medical guide, 7th edition by Auday, Bryan C
Call Number: Ref. RC41 .M34 2014
Publication Date: 2014
McGraw-Hill encyclopedia of science & technology
Call Number: Ready Ref. Q121 .M3 2007
Publication Date: 2007
McGraw-Hill yearbook of science and technology
Call Number: Q121 .M312
Publication Date: 2003-2015
Princeton encyclopedia of mammals by Macdonald, David W. (editor)
Publication Date: 2009
[Originally published as: The Encyclopedia of mammals. Oxford [England] ; New York : Oxford University Press, c2006. New ed.]
Sibley guide to birds, 2d edition by Sibley, David Allen
Publication Date: 2014
Statistics at the bench : a step-by-step handbook for biologists by Bremer, Martina
Call Number: QH323.5 .B744 2010
Publication Date: 2010