Skip to main content

HHP 305: ADAPTED PHYSICAL EDUCATION (J. Maina): Books

Welcome!

Welcome to HHP 305 (Maina)

Please navigate this LibGuide by using the tabs at the top of the pages.

BOOKS - click on each Title for: Table of Contents & Location info

Adapted physical education national standards / Kelly  (2006)

Test of Gross Motor Development, 2d edition (TGMD-2) / Prest  (2000)

Martian in the playground: understanding the schoolchild with Asperger's syndrome / Sainsbury (2009)

Strategies for inclusion: a handbook for physical educators / Lieberman (2009)

Activity for everyone: children of all abiities in a regular physical activity program, a hands-on lesson plan book / Randazzo (2005) 

Inclusion strategies that work: research-based methods for the classroom / Karten (2010)

Children with special needs: lessons for early childhood professionals / Kostelnik (2002) - each chapter introduces you to a child (birth-8 years old) with 1 or more special needs (e.g. autism, cerebral palsy, adhd, Down syndrome, etc.)

The Teacher's survival guide: adaptations, with photos, to optimize the inclusion of students of all ages with disabilities in your programs / Stopka (2011) - for P.E. Teachers

Teaching students with special needs in inclusive settings / Smith (2008) - includes chapters on: Emotional & behavior disorders, intellectual disabilities, ADHD, Autism spectrum, Sensory impairments & brain injury, Communication disorders, etc.

From isolation to intimacy: making friends without words / Caldwell (2007) - case reports about body language with autism and cerebral palsy

Autism encyclopedia: the complete guide to autism spectrum disorders / Boutot  (2009)

School professionals working with children with cochlear implants / Chute  (2006)

Effective teacher's guide to sensory and physical impairments : sensory, orthopaedic, motor and health impairments, and traumatic brain injury / Farrell (2011)

Physical activity and nutrition for health / Hopper (2008) - Lesson plans have modifications for disabilities

Pediatric rehabilitation: principles & practice / Alexander  (2009) - see especially chapter "Adaptive sports & recreation"

Adapted physical education and sport / Winnick (2005) - includes chapters on: cerebral palsy, low vision/blindness, hearing disorders/deafness

Inclusion through sports / Davis (2002)

A Practical guide to teaching the mentally retarded to swim / Council for National Cooperation in Aquatics

Teaching golf to special populations / Owens (1984)

Physical best and individuals with physical disabilities: a handbook for inclusion in fitness programs / American Association for Active Lifestyle and Fitness (1995)

Fitness programming and physical disability / Miller (1995)

Making a place for kids with disabilities / Fink (2000)

Sport for development, peace, and social justice / Schinke (2012) see chapter: "Examining the spectrum of inclusion and opportunity in sport for persons with disabilities"

Sports everyone! : recreation and sports for the physically challenged of all ages (1995)

Sports and exercise for children with chronic health conditions / Goldberg (1995)

Sports and the physically challenged: an encyclopedia of people, events and organizations / Mastandrea (2006)

Special needs, special horses: a guide to the benefits of therapeutic riding / Scott (2005) - includes info on Cerebral palsy

Dog named Slugger: the true story of the service dog that changed my life / by Leigh Brill (2010) [Author is RC alum 1992] - Cerebral palsy

Resilience: learning from people with disabilities and the turning points in their lives / King  (2003)

Dance for the handicapped /Nationa Dance Association (1980)

ACSM's exercise management for persons with chronic diseases & disabilities / Durstine (2009) - includes info on Cerebral Palsy

Paralympic athlete: handbook of sports medicine and science (2011)

Brain gym: simple activities for whole brain learning / Dennison (1986)

Hands on: how to use Brain gym in the classroom / Cohen (2003)

Edu-K for kids / Dennison (1987)

Learning gym: fun-to-do activities for success at school / Ballinger (1996)

Chicken and Noodle games: 141 fun activities with innovative equipment / Byl (2007)

Cultural reciprocity in special education: building family-professional relationships / Kalyanpur (2012)

Girls growing up on the Autism spectrum - see especially p.136-140 "Fitness and exercise"

Constructing autism: unravelling the truth and understanding the social / Nadesan (2005)

Functional testing in human performance / Reiman (2009)

Brockport physical fitness test manual / Winnick  (1999) - includes tests for: visual impairment, spinal cord injuries, cerebral palsy, etc.

Brockport physical fitness training guide / Winnick (1999) - physical activity considerations for youngsters with disabilities

 

Disabity Etiquette: tips for interacting with individuals with disabilities / AAHPERD (2007)  [E-book]

Physical and Recreational Activities: considerations for individuals with spinal cord injury / PosAbilities Unlimited (no date) [E-Brochure]

Scouting for Youth with Disabilities Manual / BSA  (2007)  [E-book]

Virginia Recreational Resources for People with Disabilities / VA Dept. of Health. Health Promotion for People with Disabilities Project  (2006)  [E-book]

 

LAST UPDATED  (9-17-2014)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Search the Fintel Library Catalog



 

Consider searching by SUBJECTS:

Physical Education for Children with Disabilities; Physical Education for Exceptional Children; Physical Education for Children with Mental Disabilities; Physical Education for People with Disabilities; Teenagers with disabilities;

Physical fitness for people with disabilities; Physical fitness-Testing; Exercise tests; Physical orthopedic tests; Disability evaluation; Function tests (Medicine); 

Sports for people with disabilities; Sports for children with disabilities; Sports for children with Mental Disabilities; Athletes with disabilities; Paralympics; Special Olympics; Wheelchair sports; Wheelchair basketball; Wheelchair rugby; Running for people with disabilities;

Children with disabilities-Recreation; People with disabilities-Recreation; Deaf-Rehabilitation; Cerebral palsy-Rehabilitation; Autism;  Asperger's syndrome;  Amputees;  Vision disorders in children; Attention-deficit hyperactivity disorder;  Minimal brain dysfunction in children; Behavior disorders in children;  Children with mental disabilities;

Exercise therapy; Dance therapy; Aquatic exercises; Horsemanship-Therapeutic use; Swimming for people with disabilities; Chronic diseases-Exercise therapy;

Mainstreaming in education; Inclusive education; Individualized instruction; Individualized Education Programs; Physical education and training-Teacher training; Special education-Parent participation; Disability awareness

 

Consider searching by KEYWORDS:

"Brain gym";   Fitness and disab* ;  Assistive technolog* ;  IEPs;  I.D.E.A.; "sitting volleyball" ; 

 

Consider searching by AUTHORS:

Disabled Sports USA; 

Information and Research Utilization Center in Physical Education and Recreation for the Handicapped; 

American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, and Recreation, Unit on Programs for the Handicapped;

Books from other sources

Worldcat

Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>

Subject Guide