It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Books and Articles for SOCI 351 (Qualitative Methods): Home
Stress and Anxiety in College Students
Welcome to this launching pad for your research on the subject of stress in college students!
Note that if you click on an e-book of interest, notice that you can explore the book by examining the table of contents and index; this willsave you a lot of time in determiningwhich books you can benefit from the most. Similarly, with e-journal articles, note that you can search a journal's content for more articles of the same topic. If you have any questions, scroll to the bottom right of this guide to contactFintel Library's liaison to the sociology department.
Mental health concerns are the most serious and prevalent health problems among students in higher education. Increasingly effective psychopharmacological and psychotherapeutic treatments have facilitated matriculation for students with histories of anxiety, mood, personality, eating and substance abuse disorders. This phenomenon has been accompanied by a striking increase in the number of previously undiagnosed students requesting treatment. College and university mental health programs struggle to care for larger numbers of students, necessitating greater interdisciplinary collaboration in treatment, research, outreach, and educational services.
This book fills an important gap in the literature and provides a comprehensive resource for nearly every aspect of college mental health. It includes a strong emphasis on the training and education of graduate and professional students for future work in this field. Chapters are devoted to the significant ethical and legal issues related to treatment and associated administrative and policy challenges. Scholarly chapters on the promise of community mental health and public health approaches are especially innovative. There is also a chapter on international issues in college mental health which will be helpful to those students studying abroad. Mental Health Care in the College Community is written by acknowledged experts from mental health, college and university administration, legal and educational disciplines, all with extensive administrative and clinical experience in higher education settings.This book is clearly written and well illustrated with abundant tables, charts, and figures.This text will become essential reading for college mental health clinicians, graduate students in the mental health disciplines (psychiatry, psychology, counselling, nursing, and social work), student affairs deans and their staff, and even presidents or provosts of universities and colleges.
Student life is a time of change and adjustment, and students' families as well as staff need resources to help them provide support for students experiencing mental health difficulties. Based on recent research findings and drawing on the experiences of professionals, academics and service users, this book explores how the needs of students can best be met by student and community mental health services. The contributors examine, in practical detail, how campus-based agencies can work with the voluntary sector, community practitioners and students' families to provide effective support for students with mental health problems. They place their discussion in the context of structural and economic changes in further and higher education and society and discuss the impact on students' mental health of factors such as family relationships, debt and financial difficulties, drug and alcohol abuse and academic challenges. Including chapters on responding to student suicide and on faith and spirituality in relation to mental health, this is a valuable resource for those supporting students experiencing mental health problems and all those working in the field of student welfare.
The 149-page study presents data from 51 North American colleges and universities about their mental health services. The benchmarking study helps its readers to answer questions such as: what are overall budgets for college mental health services and are they rising or falling? How long are therapeutic sessions and what limits do services place on their number and duration? What are manpower requirements and how are they met? What percentage of students seeking help are using psychiatric medications? What percentage are referred to outside services? How effective are triage techniques in dealing with a surge in students seeking help? What are the most commonly perceived mental health problems? How significant a problem are bipolar disorders, drug and alcohol abuse, eating disorders, and sexual abuse, among other problems and conditions? The report details the many ways that college mental health services are coping with an influx of students, how they are marketing their services and monitoring students in trouble. The report also looks at collaborations with other colleges, grant and fundraising support, preventative mental health measures and more. Just a few of the report’s many findings are that: • Community college mental health budgets fell over the three-year period as did those for 4-year colleges while the budgets of more research-intensive institutions rose. • Nearly 57% of colleges sampled use interns or part or full time professional help from graduate students in programs in psychology, psychiatry, counseling or related degrees. Research universities were the most likely to use such personnel, but colleges of all types used them. • For private colleges, only 9.23% of counseling sessions lasted less than 45 minutes; 24.36% for public colleges. • The study suggests a difficult mental health situation in the Nation’s community colleges which report much higher levels of mental health problems than do other types of colleges. • Public colleges in the sample had a mean of 4.63 counselors; private colleges, 1.64.
Campus counseling services today must face the challenges of greater diversity and complexity on campus while making do with fewer resources. In order to be maximally effective, they must be willing to engage with other services within and beyond the campus itself. This comprehensive manual for campus mental health and student affairs professionals is specifically designed to provide the most current information available regarding critical issues impacting the mental health and educational experiences of today's college students. It is unique in its focus on outreach beyond the walls of the counseling center and how counseling services can coordinate their efforts with other on and off-campus institutions to expand their reach and provide optimal services. Written for both mental health counselors and administrators, the text addresses ethical and legal issues, campus outreach, crisis and trauma services, substance abuse, sexual minorities, spiritual and religious issues, bullying and aggression, web-based counseling, and psychoeducational services. The authors of this text distill their expertise from more than 30 years of combined experience working and teaching in a variety of college and university counseling centers throughout the United States. The book serves as both a comprehensive text for courses in college counseling and college student affairs and services, as well as an all-inclusive manual for all college and university mental health and student affairs professionals. Key Features: Offers comprehensive, up-to-date coverage of college counseling center practices and programming Provides a unique focus on integration and coordination with other student services within and beyond the campus Covers a wide range of counseling services including academic and residential Discusses critical contemporary issues such as substance abuse, response to violent and traumatic events, internet bullying, and diversity concerns Written by authors with a wide range of experience in counseling services and other student affairs
Paul Grayson, a co-editor of the successful 1989 book College Psychotherapy, has teamed up with Phil Meilman, a seasoned veteran of college counseling and psychological services, to compile this needed comprehensive up-to-date treatment guide. After an opening discussion of the campus environment and student mentality, the book provides an overview of the state of college mental health at the start of the 21st century, touching on the issues faced by students of every generation, as well as those concerns unique to this day and age. With an emphasis on practice, and not theory, this easily referenced treatment guide will be of use to anyone working in the mental health fields in and around a college environment.
The College Student Counseling Treatment Planner providesall the elements necessary to quickly and easily develop formaltreatment plans that satisfy the demands of HMOs, managed carecompanies, third-party payors, and state and federal reviewagencies. Saves you hours of time-consuming paperwork, yet offers thefreedom to develop customized treatment plans for young adultclients Organized around 28 main presenting problems, from academicperformance anxiety and financial stress to depression, suicidalideation, and chemical dependence Over 1,000 well-crafted, clear statements describe thebehavioral manifestations of each relational problem, long-termgoals, short-term objectives, and clinically tested treatmentoptions Easy-to-use reference format helps locate treatment plancomponents by behavioral problem or DSM-IV-TR(TM) diagnosis Includes a sample treatment plan that conforms to therequirements of most third-party payors and accrediting agencies(including HCFA, JCAHO, and NCQA)
Using a unique developmental focus, this clinical handbook provides college counseling professionals and trainees with strategies for addressing the most pressing and frequently encountered issues presented by college students. These problems are considered from the perspective of biological, psychological, and social development and include issues faced by the student population according to both college year (freshman, senior, etc.) and the academic calendar, such as spring and winter breaks and exam periods. The text also addresses the particular needs of non-traditional students and the impact of cultural identity on the way in which a disorder manifests or is best treated. The only text to focus on both the developmental and clinical concerns of contemporary college students, it provides detailed information on such prevalent presenting issues as major depressive disorder, anxiety, substance abuse and addiction, eating disorders, grief, self-injury, social adjustment concerns, and intimate relationships. The text examines how a disorder usually presents and manifests in college students, addressing the role of gender, cultural identify, and age. It provides best practice treatment strategies that take into account the time-limited nature of treatment in most college counseling centers, and discusses the use of individual and group counseling. The text also addresses such issues as crisis management, teaming up with faculty and staff to develop preventive care programming, and developing alliances with parents. Case studies and descriptions of symptom presentation are derived from composites of students treated by the authors. College Student Clinical Mental Health Counseling will be useful as both a text and a "go-to" reference for counselors to use when working with students. Key Features: Offers a developmental approach for understanding the psychological, emotional, and social development of students in higher education Addresses the most pressing and frequently encountered difficulties of college students with relevant treatment models Focuses on specific difficulties that may occur during different academic years and according to the standard academic calendar Covers depressive disorders, substance abuse, eating disorders, self-injury, grief, social adjustment concerns, and intimate relationships Provides intervention strategies that adhere to the brief counseling framework of most college settings
Stressed by increasing student demand for mental health services, campus counseling centers across the country are grappling with how best to deliver ethical, effective, and efficient service. Hampered by limited budgets, most centers find it deeply challenging to address growing college mental health service needs. Yet little conceptual training is provided to student affairs, higher education, health, and mental health professionals who deliver campus mental health services. In Delivering Effective College Mental Health Services, psychologist Lee Keyes aims to change that. He offers sound, field-tested advice for creating a congruent, cross-division, and service-oriented college counseling enterprise that best fits its campus culture and students. This useful handbook for administering counseling services * poses questions and offers practical advice to help college counseling centers form a consistent philosophical model * lays out conceptual groundwork for constructing college counseling services, from training activities to counseling/psychotherapy processes * takes into account the pressures (time related, economic, political, cultural) that strain universities * explains how to cultivate an accurate and empathic response to each individual, their entire history and context, and their possible life trajectory Written by a leading provider of college mental health services, Delivering Effective College Mental Health Services is an essential guide to organizing and offering mental health services on university and college campuses.
Young adults enter college with many challenges--complicated family dynamics, identity issues, and extreme pressure to succeed, among others. Students may also have mental health difficulties, ranging from adjustment disorders to mood disorders, and growing numbers of them are seeking help on campus. But these students are also resilient and eager to learn, stepping onto campus with hope for a new and better phase of life. Doris Iarovici, a psychiatrist at Duke University Counseling and Psychological Services, sees in college and university mental health services an opportunity for mental health professionals to bring about positive change with young people during a crucial period of their development. Dr. Iarovici describes the current college mental health crisis and narrates how college mental health services have evolved along with changes in student populations. She discusses students' lifestyle problems and psychiatric concerns, using case vignettes to explore a variety of interventions. Included are discussions of substance abuse, relationship difficulties, eating disorders, depression and anxiety, and culture clashes. Problems uniquely addressed in this book include sleep disturbances and perfectionism. An essential component of the volume is a guide to making emergency assessments, from risk classification and hospitalization to public safety and communication within and outside the campus community.
The Nature Rx movement is changing campus life. Offering alternative ways to deal with the stress that students are under, these programs are redefining how to provide students with the best possible environment in which to be healthy, productive members of the academic community. In Nature Rx, Donald A. Rakow and Gregory T. Eells summarize the value of nature prescription programs designed to encourage college students to spend time in nature and to develop a greater appreciation for the natural world. Because these programs are relatively new, there are many lessons for practitioners to learn; but clinical studies demonstrate that students who regularly spend time in nature have reduced stress and anxiety levels and improved mood and outlook. In addition to the latest research, the authors present a step-by-step formula for constructing, sustaining, and evaluating Nature Rx programs, and they profile four such programs at American colleges. The practical guidance in Nature Rx alongside the authors' vigorous argument for the benefits of these programs for both students and institutions places Rakow and Eells at the forefront of this burgeoning movement.
Suicide is currently the second leading cause of death among college students in the United States. This complex issue on college campuses is often overlooked, and this book combines the efforts from several leaders in the field of suicidology in an attempt to grasp a better understanding of college student suicide. The book is divided into four parts. Part I discusses suicidal behaviors among college students, college student suicide risk and an analysis of national epidemiological data, gender considerations, racial and ethnic differences, and murder-suicide on campus. Part II explores the risk and protective factors, individual and family history, alcohol involvement, environmental stressors, interpersonal factors, and protective factors. Part III addresses identification and treatment, suicide assessment, cognitive behavioral therapy, including college suicide prevention programs and interventions. A case study presents a real illustration of a counseling intervention with a college student. Additional topics include the variability of college student suicidal behaviors, identification of at-risk students, and legal liabilities of universities. This unique and comprehensive book is intended for college counseling centers, researchers, clinicians, and professionals who are faced with issues relating to college student suicide on a regular basis.
In the wake of the April 2006 Virginia Tech shootings, governor Timothy Kaine appointed an independent panel to investigate the incident and to recommend potential policy changes that might prevent such a tragedy from occurring again. The incident itself and the work of the panel mobilized theentire nation to examine many aspects of the tragedy, most centrally university mental health systems. Certain aspects of the case raised issues that were not addressed by the resulting report, such as the role of the college mental health system in the lives of young adults, the complexity ofidentifying the mental health needs of students, and the shortcomings of mental health delivery systems within colleges as well the larger community.The Virginia Tech Massacre is based on the experience and unique perspective of Dr. Aradhana Bela Sood, a panel member appointed to the special independent review committee which was asked to consult specifically on the mental health system implications of the VA Tech shooting. This book disclosesSood's personal experience as a child psychiatrist and panel member, and her role in shaping the final report. Sood, along with co-editor Dr. Robert Cohen, who has been involved in studying and reforming mental health policy for more than 40 years, and carefully selected expert contributors takereaders on a journey examining the mental health vulnerabilities of youth transitioning to adulthood, the limitations of existing warning tools for violence, and local, regional, and national gaps in mental health service delivery across the United States.This book offers examples of effective mental health services, policies, and strategies, and it provides concrete and pragmatic recommendations for how to begin overhauling the delivery of mental health services. The Virginia Tech Massacre is topical and timely, given the widespread interfacebetween violence in the public arena and mental health issues. It will be a critical resource to mental health professionals, policymakers and legislators, state and local government officials, higher education personnel, and social workers and others in the human service fields. It will also be ofinterest to those concerned about gun violence and mental health and students in psychiatry, psychology, social work, and public health.
If college is supposed to be the best time of our lives, why are so many students unhappy? What causes a well-adjusted and academically successful high school graduate to suddenly flounder when he reaches college? Why might she start to skip classes, binge on alcohol, or engage in unsatisfying hook-ups? Where does the anger and self-doubt come from, and why is it directed at loving parents or the student himself? Drawing on years of experience treating college-age youth, David Leibow, M.D. provides fresh, honest, and realistic answers to these and other important questions. Instead of adventure, liberation, and a triumphant march into adulthood, many college students experience shame, regression, and social and academic failure. Yet by understanding themselves better and making reasonable changes, students can grow from these challenges and turn bad choices into wiser personal and educational decisions. Leibow focuses on issues common to college settings-anxiety and depression, drug and alcohol abuse, laziness and work avoidance, body-image problems, and unhealthy relationships-detailing coping strategies and professional resources that best respond to each crisis. His intimate knowledge of campus life and its unique challenges adds credibility and weight to his advice. Reorienting the expectations of parents and students while providing the tools for overcoming a variety of hurdles, Leibow shows how college can still become one of the best times of our lives.