It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with full-text periodicals, peer-reviewed journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. It features PDF content going back as far as 1887.
Full text journals, many back to the original issue. Provides access to journals in the arts & sciences, business, ecology & botany, and languages & literature. JSTOR's coverage typically begins 3 -5 years after the current year.
Provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 70 national (U.S.) and international newspapers including the Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. and television & radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc. The database also contains selective full text for more than 330 regional (U.S.) newspapers.
Contains full text of articles from over 2,500 publications, and indexing and abstracts from nearly 3,600 publications, supporting research in all core undergraduate subjects and for cross-disciplinary work.
Social Sciences Full Text™ provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences. This resource provides detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983—nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed.
Your feedback is important to us! (Please click on the image below.)
Search Secrets! (Click to watch video.)
Once you've determined your topic, it's time to do some brainstorming! No need to get on a computer quite yet! In fact, it's probably best to to this with paper and pencil. Click on the image above to see what happens when we are too anxious and we overlook the mind mapping and brainstorming needed to get good results. Don't forget to to return to this page after watching this short video.
(Source: Leonard Lief Library of Lehman College.)
Does Your Research Involve Writing a Literature Review? (Click to watch video.)
A literature review is summary that pulls together, interprets, and logically arranges the current state of knowledge on a subject that others have been researching. It can be done as an introduction to one's own research, or it can be presented as a stand alone paper. In your case, you will be writing a stand alone literature review on a narrow topic that is of interest to you. Before we get into the nuts and bolts of how to go forward with your own literature review, have a look at this video.
Like the video above? Are you a visual learner? If so, have a look at this one, too. Here you'll learn how to make sure your lit review more than just a list of disjointed references and you'll learn to put your own voice into your synthesis.
Annotated Bibliographies (Click to watch video.)
What is an annotated bibliography and how does it relate to the way you look at the literature on your topic of interest? Click on the picture below to find out more. (Courtesy of Cornell University Library.)