It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For students taking SOCI 201, this guide should serve as your first point of inquiry for class assignments that require research. If you have any questions about the resources here, please call the reference desk at Fintel Library (540.375.2294) for help.
Electronic Journals Concerned With Social Inequality
Note that all of these journals listed below allow you to search within them for topics of your specific interest. Alternatively, if you are still deciding on a topic, you can peruse past issues/articles.
Original works of interest to all areas of sociology in general, new theoretical developments, results of research that advance understanding of fundamental social processes and important methodological innovations.
Provides a forum for economic investigations and analyses of the numerous questions regarding economic and social inequalities, both at the theoretical and the empirical level. Moreover, it explores the policy implications of the field’s research findings.
Among the topics addressed in the journal is the inequality of earnings and household incomes in the Western world. Moreover, the journal investigates the gap between rich and poor countries. Lastly, it examines inequalities in educational opportunities, health care, morbidity, and mortality, both within and between countries.
Provides a forum for the exchange of ideas among development practitioners, policy-makers and academics. Aims to stimulate further research and development of concepts and measurement tools for human development.
Concerns itself with poverty alleviation and international aid; international debt crisis; economic development and industrialization, environmental degradation & sustainable development, political governance and civil society; gender relations; rights of the child, etc.
Founded in 1922, Social Forces is a renowned journal of sociological research associated with the Southern Sociological Society. It highlights sociological inquiry but also explores realms shared with social psychology, anthropology, political science, history, and economics. Each issue usually includes ten to fourteen articles, twenty to twenty-five full book reviews, and five to ten "take note" reviews. Social Forces is widely circulated in the US and over one hundred foreign countries.
Areas covered by the journal include: conflict and social action; crime and juvenile delinquency; drinking, drugs, and addiction; health policy and services; race and ethnicity; and sexual behavior and politics.
Sociological Perspectives, the official quarterly of the Pacific Sociological Association, was established in 1957 to advance research, theory, scholarship, and practice within sociology and related disciplines. The journal publishes articles that are of general interest to members of the discipline and that, as a result, allow for the further accumulation of knowledge about social processes. Additionally, Sociological Perspectives is also the only sociology journal in the world to provide foreign abstracts in Spanish, Japanese, and Chinese in every issue.
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with full-text periodicals, peer-reviewed journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. It features PDF content going back as far as 1887.
a web-based digital video delivery platform that allows you to view streaming videos from Films Media Group anytime, anywhere, 24/7! Thousands of videos are available for in-class use and remote viewing from the library, in the dorm, or at home.
Full text journals, many back to the original issue. Provides access to journals in the arts & sciences, business, ecology & botany, and languages & literature. JSTOR's coverage typically begins 3 -5 years after the current year.
Contains full text of articles from over 2,500 publications, and indexing and abstracts from nearly 3,600 publications, supporting research in all core undergraduate subjects and for cross-disciplinary work. Also contains the old database "Applied Sciences & Technology Index".
Both women and men strive to achieve a work and family balance, but does this imply more or less equality? Does the persistence of gender and class inequalities refute the notion that lives are becoming more individualised?
Ideal for use as a core or secondary text in lower division social inequalities or social problems courses, this book explains how the changing nature and uses of the Internet not only mirror today's social inequalities, but also are at the heart of how stratification is now taking place. A pioneering work, both intellectually, and pedagogically."
The New Class Society introduces students to the sociology of class structure and inequalities as it asks whether or not the American dream has faded. The fourth edition of this powerful book demonstrates how and why class inequalities in the United States have been widened, hardened, and become more entrenched than ever. The fourth edition has been extensively revised and reorganized throughout, including a new introduction that offers an overview of key themes and shorter chapters that cover a wider range of topics. New material for the fourth edition includes a discussion of The Great Recession and its ongoing impact, the demise of the middle class, rising costs of college and increasing student debt, the role of electronic media in shaping people's perceptions of class, and more."
Presents an exploration of why the opportunity to live a long and healthy life remains profoundly unequal. This book tackles such questions as: How health is influenced by circumstances across people's lives and by the areas in which they live? And how health is simultaneously shaped by inequalities of gender, ethnicity and socioeconomic position?
Endnote. What is it and why should I use it?
What is EndNote?
EndNote is a reference management software that requires a subscription to use. Lucky for you, Roanoke College has a subscription. Create an EndNote account and keep track of your research, manage your bibliographies, and best of all, plug in citations as you write your paper. No more stressing over how to properly cite your sources. It's all done for you!
Provides easy-to-use yet methodologically sound tools for understanding the distribution of well-being and opportunity in America and stimulating fact-based dialogue about issues we all care about: health, education, and living standards.
explores excess and inequality, in the United States and throughout the world. We cover a wide swatch of territory, everything from the latest executive pay outrage to the most current research insights on how staggering income and wealth divides are impacting our health and our happiness.