Research Guides: INQ 260PY --- Psychology in the Media: Home

Best bet databases to use for this class!

The links below lead you to thousands of journal and encyclopedia articles. Hover your mouse over the databases to get descriptions of their coverage. Feel free to call us at 375-2295 if you need help navigating these or any other databases.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
PsycArticles is a a collection of professional literature of psychology. It contains full text access to more than 100 journals in behavioral science and related fields. Available from APA through EBSCO
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO links you to abstracts of more than 3.6 million records, covering psychology back to its underpinnings in the 17th century (which you can pursue further through inter-library loan for full text) Available from APA through EBSCO.
Social Science Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes professional literature of the social sciences.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text journals, many back to the original issue. Provides access to journals in the arts & sciences, business, ecology & botany, and languages & literature. JSTOR's coverage typically begins 3 -5 years after the current year.
Films on Demand Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
A web-based digital video delivery platform that allows you to view streaming videos from Films Media Group anytime, anywhere, 24/7! Thousands of videos are available for in-class use and remote viewing from the library, in the dorm, or at home.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
A collection of online not-for-profit scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.

Blogs and Websites Written by Psychologists

Looking for a specific journal? Read this!

You can use the Find a Journal database to find a specific title, or browse by subjects. To begin searching for a specific journal, visit our Find a Journal page.

If we do not have full text access to a journal that you are interested in, the option to use our interlibrary loan service is free and convenient!

Here are journal titles you might consider searching for:

American Journal of Psychology
American Psychologist
Annual Review of Psychology
Athletic insight: The Online Journal of Sport Psychology
Brain and Cognition
Evolutionary Psychology
Health Psychology
Industrial and Organizational Psychology
Journal of Abnormal Psychology
Journal of Applied Psychology
Journal of Applied Social Psychology
Journal of Experimental Psychology
Journal of Experimental Social Psychology
Journal of Psychology
Journal of Personality and Social Psychology
Journal of Social & Psychological Sciences
Nature
Perception
Personality and Individual Differences
Personality and Social Psychology Bulletin
Personality and Social Psychology Review
Psychologica
Psychological Research
Psychological Reports
Psychological Science
Psychology of Addictive Behaviors
Psychology of Music
Psychonomic Bulletin and Review
Science
Suicide and Life-Threatening Behaviour
Trends in Cognitive Sciences
Work and Stress

Useful Internet Sources

While much of what we find on the internet may not meet the standards of reliability needed for academic work at the college level, there are still some internet sources that are very much worth visiting. Here are three that feature peer reviewed access to journal articles / abstracts.

Endnote. What is it and why should I use it?

What is EndNote?

EndNote is a reference management software that requires a subscription to use. Lucky for you, Roanoke College has a subscription. Create an EndNote account and keep track of your research, manage your bibliographies, and best of all, plug in citations as you write your paper. No more stressing over how to properly cite your sources. It's all done for you!

How to use Endnote This link opens in a new window
No more worrying about citations! This will help you rest assured that you are attributing information accurately in your assignments!
EndNote This link opens in a new window
Search, organize, and share research. Automatically format bibliographies with EndNote's patented "Cite While You Write" tool.

Please be in touch if you have any questions!

Chuck Frith

Email Me

Contact:

220 High St.
Salem, VA 24153

540-375-2292

Subjects: Business & Economics, Fine Arts & Art History, Psychology