It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with full-text periodicals, peer-reviewed journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. It features PDF content going back as far as 1887.
Education resources from the Department of Education: Bibliographic records for: journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and other education-related materials. If available, links to fulltext
This full-text database covers a wide variety of subjects, including information on specific diseases as well as overall health topics. Subjects include fitness, nutrition, diabetes, aging, women's health, children's health and more.
Full text journals, many back to the original issue. Provides access to journals in the arts & sciences, business, ecology & botany, and languages & literature. JSTOR's coverage typically begins 3 -5 years after the current year.
Provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 70 national (U.S.) and international newspapers including the Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. and television & radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc. The database also contains selective full text for more than 330 regional (U.S.) newspapers.
Contains full text of articles from over 2,500 publications, and indexing and abstracts from nearly 3,600 publications, supporting research in all core undergraduate subjects and for cross-disciplinary work.
This journal communicates exciting advances in brain research, serves as a voice for the global neuroscience community, and highlights the contribution of neuroscientific research to medicine and society.
This textbook focuses on the relationship between physical exercise and cognition, a very timely and important topic with major theoretical and practical implications for a number of areas including ageing, neurorehabilitation, depression and dementia. It brings together a wide range of analytical approaches and experimental results to provide a very useful overview and synthesis of this growing field of study. The book is divided into three parts: Part I covers the conceptual, theoretical and methodological underpinnings and issues. Part II focuses on advances in exercise and cognition research, with appropriate sub-sections on 'acute' and 'chronic' exercise and cognition. Part III presents an overview of the area and makes suggestions for the direction of future research. This text provides a cutting-edge examination of this increasingly important area written by leading experts from around the world. The book will prove invaluable to researchers and practitioners in a number of fields, including exercise science, cognitive science, neuroscience and clinical medicine. Key Features: Unique in-depth investigation of the relationship between physical exercise and brain function.Covers theoretical approaches and experimental results and includes chapters on the latest developments in research design.Examines the effects of both acute and chronic exercise on brain function.International list of contributors, who are leading researchers in their field.
The Hidden Mechanics of Exercise reveals the microworld of the body in motion, from motor proteins that produce force to enzymes that extract energy from food, and tackles questions athletes ask: What should we ingest before and during a race? How does a hard workout trigger changes in our muscles? Why does exercise make us feel good?
A growing body of research evidence suggests that physical activity can have a positive effect on educational achievement. This book examines a range of processes associated with physical activity that are of relevance to those working in education - including cognition, learning, memory, attention, mood, stress and mental health symptoms - and draws on the latest insights from exercise neuroscience to help explain the evidence. With contributions from leading scientists and educationalists from around the world, this book cuts through the myths to interrogate the relationship between physical activity and educational achievement in children, adolescents and young adults in a variety of cultural and geographical contexts. Examining both the benefits and risks associated with physical activity from the perspectives of exercise science and educational psychology, it also looks ahead to ask what the limits of this research might be and what effects it might have on the future practice of education. Physical Activity and Educational Achievement: Insights from Exercise Neuroscience is fascinating reading for any student, academic or practitioner with an interest in exercise science and education.
Neurophysiologist and educator Dr. Carla Hannaford brings the latest insights from scientific research to questions that affect learners of all ages. Examining the body's role in learning, from infancy through adulthood she presents the mounting scientific evidence that movement is crucial to learning.Dr. Hannaford offers clear alternatives and remedies that people can put into practice right away to make a real difference in their ability to learn.She advocates more enlightened educational practices for homes and schools including: a more holistic view of each learner; less emphasis on rote learning; more experiential, active instruction; less labeling of learning disabilities; more physical movement; more personal expression through arts, sports and music; less prescribing of Ritalin and other drugs whose long term effects are not even known.
Public awareness of the role diet plays in brain function has been steadily increasing. This has led to significant development of new products, dietary supplements, functional foods, nutraceuticals and public health recommendations for maintaining brain function. Nutrition for Brain Health and Cognitive Performance presents a detailed and innovati
Marvel at the neuroscientific reasons why smart teens make dumb decisions! Behold the mind-controlling power of executive function! Thrill to a vision of a better school for the teenage brain! Whether you're a parent interacting with one adolescent or a teacher interacting with many, you know teens can be hard to parent and even harder to teach. The eye-rolling, the moodiness, the wandering attention, the drama. It's not you, it's them. More specifically, it's their brains. In accessible language and with periodic references to Star Trek, motorcycle daredevils, and near-classic movies of the '80s, developmental molecular biologist John Medina, author of the New York Times best-seller Brain Rules, explores the neurological and evolutionary factors that drive teenage behavior and can affect both achievement and engagement. Then he proposes a research-supported counterattack: a bold redesign of educational practices and learning environments to deliberately develop teens' cognitive capacity to manage their emotions, plan, prioritize, and focus. Attack of the Teenage Brain! is an enlightening and entertaining read that will change the way you think about teen behavior and prompt you to consider how else parents, educators, and policymakers might collaborate to help our challenging, sometimes infuriating, often weird, and genuinely wonderful kids become more successful learners, in school and beyond.
Edward D. Hess combines recent advances in neuroscience, psychology, behavioral economics, and education with key research on high-performance businesses to create an actionable blueprint for becoming a leading-edge learning organization.
The first edition of Neurobiology of Learning and Memory was published in 1998 to rave reviews. As before, this second edition will discuss anatomy, development, systems, and models though the organization and content is substantially changed reflecting advances in the field. Including information from both animal and human studies, this book represents an up-to-date review of the most important concepts associated with the basic mechanism that support learning and memory, theoretical developments, use of computational models, and application to real world problems. The emphasis of each chapter will be the presentation of cutting-edge research on the topic, the development of a theoretical perspective, and providing an outline that will aid a student in understanding the most important concepts presented in the chapter. *New material covers basal ganglia, cerebellum, prefrontal cortex, and fear conditioning *Additional information available on applied issues (i.e., degenerative disease, aging, and enhancement of memory) *Each chapter includes an outline to assist student understanding of challenging concepts *Four-color illustrations throughout
Understanding the impact of diet, exercise, genetics, and hormones on the risk and development of Alzheimer's and other neurogenerative diseases Diet is widely known to impact on neurological function. Nevertheless, academic texts discussing this relationship are relatively few in number. This book therefore fills an important gap in the current literature. Opening with an overview of neurodegenerative diseases, particularly Alzheimer's disease, the text then focuses on explaining the means by which glycemic control and lipid metabolism - and associated nutritional and lifestyle variables - may factor into such disorders' prevention and treatment. An international group of experts in the fields of food science and neurodegeneration have contributed chapters that examine Alzheimer's disease within a broad range of contexts. Offering dietary, genetic, and hormonal perspectives, the authors explore topics ranging from sugar consumption to digestive fermentation, and Alzheimer's disease animal models to the cognition-enhancing effects of physical exercise. Also included are overviews of the latest research into current and developing methods of treatment and diagnosis, as well as differential diagnostics. This groundbreaking book: Explores how glucose metabolism, insulin resistance, lipid metabolism, and high intake of refined carbohydrates are linked to Alzheimer's disease Discusses how genetic makeup can impact risk of Alzheimer's and Parkinson's disease Examines cognitive changes in neurodegeneration, lists current tests for determining cognitive impairment, and provides information concerning differential diagnosis Discusses potential advantages of increasing antioxidant and micronutrient intake Reviews hormonal influences on neurodegeneration Examines the links between protein intake and Alzheimer's disease. Neurodegeneration and Alzheimer's Disease is an essential resource for researchers, medical practitioners, dietitians, and students with an interest in neurological diseases and their diagnosis and risk factors, as well as diet-related conditions such as diabetes and obesity. Lifestyle and diet influence neurodegeneration risk, and a better understanding of this evidence amongst health professionals will hopefully lead to greater public awareness of how to reduce the likelihood of these widespread conditions.
Sleep debt is a characteristic symptom of modern society, a society that provides services without interruption consumption over 24 hours with the help of teams undergo shift work, and encouraging individuals to use these services in unconventional times. Sleep loss can also be caused by neurological, psychiatric and medical disorders. The changes of sleep and wakefulness pattern are invariably linked with neurological disorders because of the common brain circuits and neurotransmitter systems that support brain function and regulation of sleep. The negative impact of changes in sleep health include metabolic and vascular outcomes such as hypertension, myocardial infarction, arrhythmias, type 2 diabetes and insulin resistance. In mood, sleep impacts the emotional regulation, being co-morbid with depression and anxiety. The relationship of sleep with depression is bi-directional, as 90% of individuals with depression have sleep loss, and individuals with sleep disorders have depressive symptoms. This book provides new research on the prevalence, dangers and impacts on cognitive performance of sleep deprivation.
A groundbreaking and fascinating investigation into the transformative effects of exercise on the brain, from the bestselling author and renowned psychiatrist John J. Ratey, MD. Did you know you can beat stress, lift your mood, fight memory loss, sharpen your intellect, and function better than ever simply by elevating your heart rate and breaking a sweat? The evidence is incontrovertible: Aerobic exercise physically remodels our brains for peak performance. In Spark, John J. Ratey, M.D., embarks upon a fascinating and entertaining journey through the mind-body connection, presenting startling research to prove that exercise is truly our best defense against everything from depression to ADD to addiction to aggression to menopause to Alzheimer's. Filled with amazing case studies (such as the revolutionary fitness program in Naperville, Illinois, which has put this school district of 19,000 kids first in the world of science test scores), Spark is the first book to explore comprehensively the connection between exercise and the brain. It will change forever the way you think about your morning run -- -or, for that matter, simply the way you think.
John Ratey, bestselling author and clinical professor of psychiatry at Harvard Medical School, lucidly explains the human brain's workings, and paves the way for a better understanding of how the brain affects who we are. Ratey provides insight into the basic structure and chemistry of the brain, and demonstrates how its systems shape our perceptions, emotions, and behavior. By giving us a greater understanding of how the brain responds to the guidance of its user, he provides us with knowledge that can enable us to improve our lives. In A User's Guide to the Brain, Ratey clearly and succinctly surveys what scientists now know about the brain and how we use it. He looks at the brain as a malleable organ capable of improvement and change, like any muscle, and examines the way specific motor functions might be applied to overcome neural disorders ranging from everyday shyness to autism. Drawing on examples from his practice and from everyday life, Ratey illustrates that the most important lesson we can learn about our brains is how to use them to their maximum potential.
Peer Review and Primary Literature
When we examine the existing literature on a topic of interest, it's important to focus our attention on sources that are well established in the academic community. Click on the picture below to find out what it means for a source to be "peer reviewed" and how to sort out primary sources from secondary sources. Be sure to click on the various tabs at the top of the page you land on to explore. (Courtesy of Mildred F. Sawyer Library of Suffolk University.)
What is an annotated bibliography and how does it relate to the way you look at the literature on your topic of interest? Click on the picture below to find out more. (Courtesy of Cornell University Library.)
Your feedback is important to us! (Please click on the image below.)
APA (American Psychological Association) style is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition, second printing of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page. For more information, please consult the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, (7th ed.)
Endnote. What is it and why should I use it?
What is EndNote?
EndNote is a reference management software that requires a subscription to use. Lucky for you, Roanoke College has a subscription. Create an EndNote account and keep track of your research, manage your bibliographies, and best of all, plug in citations as you write your paper. No more stressing over how to properly cite your sources. It's all done for you!