It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For students taking SOCI 352, this guide should serve as your first point of inquiry for class assignments that require research. If you have any questions about the resources here, please call the reference desk at Fintel Library (540.375.2294) for help.
Electronic Journals Concerned With Quantitative Methods
Note that all of these journals listed below allow you to search within them for topics of your specific interest. Alternatively, if you are still deciding on a topic, you can peruse past issues/articles.
Original articles and commentary investigating all aspects of production, distribution and the use of statistical data. Includes information about methods, design, and implementation of data base systems. Forum for data users and producers.
Empirical, philosophical and methodological studies dealing with problems relating to the measurement of all aspects of the quality of life; health, population, shelter, transportation, natural environment, social customs and morality, mental health.
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with full-text periodicals, peer-reviewed journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. It features PDF content going back as far as 1887.
a web-based digital video delivery platform that allows you to view streaming videos from Films Media Group anytime, anywhere, 24/7! Thousands of videos are available for in-class use and remote viewing from the library, in the dorm, or at home.
Full text journals, many back to the original issue. Provides access to journals in the arts & sciences, business, ecology & botany, and languages & literature. JSTOR's coverage typically begins 3 -5 years after the current year.
Contains full text of articles from over 2,500 publications, and indexing and abstracts from nearly 3,600 publications, supporting research in all core undergraduate subjects and for cross-disciplinary work. Also contains the old database "Applied Sciences & Technology Index".
While Applying Social Statistics is 'about' social statistics and includes all of the topics generally covered in similar texts, it is first and foremost a book about how sociologists use statistics. Its emphasis is on statistical reasoning in sociology and on showing how these principles can be applied to numerous problems in a wide variety of contexts; to answer effectively the question 'what's it for.' A main learning objective is to help students understand how and why social statistics is used. Yet, Weinstein's style and substance recognize that it is of equal-or even greater-importance that they begin to learn how to apply these principles and techniques themselves.
Here, by popular demand, is the updated edition to Joel Best's classic guide to understanding how numbers can confuse us. In his new afterword, Best uses examples from recent policy debates to reflect on the challenges to improving statistical literacy. Since its publication ten years ago, Damned Lies and Statistics has emerged as the go-to handbook for spotting bad statistics and learning to think critically about these influential numbers.
This comprehensive Handbook is the first to provide a practical, interdisciplinary review of ethical issues as they relate to quantitative methodology including how to present evidence for reliability and validity, what comprises an adequate tested population, and what constitutes scientific knowledge for eliminating biases. The book uses an ethical framework that emphasizes the human cost of quantitative decision making to help researchers understand the specific implications of their choices. The order of the Handbook chapters parallels the chronology of the research process: determining the research design and data collection; data analysis; and communicating findings. Each chapter: Explores the ethics of a particular topic Identifies prevailing methodological issues Reviews strategies and approaches for handling such issues and their ethical implications Provides one or more case examples Outlines plausible approaches to the issue including best-practice solutions. Part 1 presents ethical frameworks that cross-cut design, analysis, and modeling in the behavioral sciences. Part 2 focuses on ideas for disseminating ethical training in statistics courses. Part 3 considers the ethical aspects of selecting measurement instruments and sample size planning and explores issues related to high stakes testing, the defensibility of experimental vs. quasi-experimental research designs, and ethics in program evaluation. Decision points that shape a researchers' approach to data analysis are examined in Part 4 - when and why analysts need to account for how the sample was selected, how to evaluate tradeoffs of hypothesis-testing vs. estimation, and how to handle missing data. Ethical issues that arise when using techniques such as factor analysis or multilevel modeling and when making causal inferences are also explored. The book concludes with ethical aspects of reporting meta-analyses, of cross-disciplinary statistical reform, and of the publication process. This Handbook appeals to researchers and practitioners in psychology, human development, family studies, health, education, sociology, social work, political science, and business/marketing. This book is also a valuable supplement for quantitative methods courses required of all graduate students in these fields.
Useful for students in health and social sciences with little or no experience of quantitative data analysis and statistics, this book take you through the step by step process of data analysis. It includes topics such as questionnaires and how to analyse them, and coding the data for SPSS, setting up an SPSS database and entering the data.
Some in the social sciences argue that the same logic applies to both qualitative and quantitative methods. In A Tale of Two Cultures, Gary Goertz and James Mahoney demonstrate that these two paradigms constitute different cultures, each internally coherent yet marked by contrasting norms, practices, and toolkits. They identify and discuss major differences between these two traditions that touch nearly every aspect of social science research, including design, goals, causal effects and models, concepts and measurement, data analysis, and case selection. Although focused on the differences between qualitative and quantitative research, Goertz and Mahoney also seek to promote toleration, exchange, and learning by enabling scholars to think beyond their own culture and see an alternative scientific worldview. This book is written in an easily accessible style and features a host of real-world examples to illustrate methodological points.
This practical book can be used as a supplementary text or as a self-help guide through which the reader can learn to use SPSS on their own, and at their own pace. The book uses statistics to teach the use of SPSS, by interacting with the software and learning by inquiry and discovery. Each chapter includes an introduction and list of objectives indicating what the reader will be able to do by the end of the chapter. Bulleted phrases provide step-by-step guidance as readers work through the exercises.
The GSS contains a standard 'core' of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest. Many of the core questions have remained unchanged since 1972 to facilitate time-trend studies as well as replication of earlier findings. The GSS takes the pulse of America, and is a unique and valuable resource. It has tracked the opinions of Americans over the last four decades.
The The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research offers more than 500,000 digital files containing social science research data from around the world, accessible to researchers affiliated with member institutions.
The ISSP is a continuing annual program of cross-national collaboration on surveys covering topics important for social science research
It brings together pre-existing social science projects and coordinates research goals, thereby adding a cross-national, cross-cultural perspective to the individual national studies.
The ISSP researchers especially concentrate on developing questions that are meaningful and relevant to all countries, and can be expressed in an equivalent manner in all relevant languages.
Provides access to UIS.Stat, where you can build your own tables, graphs and maps. The data base contains all the latest available data and indicators, for education, literacy, science, technology and innovation, as well as culture.
Endnote. What is it and why should I use it?
What is EndNote?
EndNote is a reference management software that requires a subscription to use. Lucky for you, Roanoke College has a subscription. Create an EndNote account and keep track of your research, manage your bibliographies, and best of all, plug in citations as you write your paper. No more stressing over how to properly cite your sources. It's all done for you!