It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
"... provides students, researchers, educators, and librarians with the instruction and advice they need to master the art of scholarly communication ... covers everything from classic journal authoring topics (now completely modernized) such as Organization of Your Article and Peer Review, to styling conventions needed for all scholarly communication, such as Chemical Nomenclature and Effective Writing and Word Usage, to emerging areas of interest in scholarly communication, including Open Access & Open Science, Sharing Data, Communicating Safety Information, and Preprints."
In the time since the second edition of The ACS Style Guide was published, the rapid growth of electronic communication has dramatically changed the scientific, technical, and medical (STM) publication world. This dynamic mode of dissemination is enabling scientists, engineers, and medical practitioners all over the world to obtain and transmit information quickly and easily. An essential constant in this changing environment is the requirement that information remain accurate, clear, unambiguous, and ethically sound. This extensive revision of The ACS Style Guide thoroughly examines electronic tools now available to assist STM writers in preparing manuscripts and communicating with publishers. Valuable updates include discussions of markup languages, citation of electronic sources, online submission of manuscripts, and preparation of figures, tables, and structures. In keeping current with the changing environment, this edition also contains references to many resources on the internet. With this wealth of new information, The ACS Style Guide's Third Edition continues its long tradition of providing invaluable insight on ethics in scientific communication, the editorial process, copyright, conventions in chemistry, grammar, punctuation, spelling, and writing style for any STM author, reviewer, or editor. The Third Edition is the definitive source for all information needed to write, review, submit, and edit scholarly and scientific manuscripts.
Biological Inorganic Chemistry: A New Introduction to Molecular Structure and Function, Second Edition, provides a comprehensive discussion of the biochemical aspects of metals in living systems. Beginning with an overview of metals and selected nonmetals in biology, the book then discusses the following concepts: basic coordination chemistry for biologists; structural and molecular biology for chemists; biological ligands for metal ions; intermediary metabolism and bioenergetics; and methods to study metals in biological systems. The book also covers metal assimilation pathways; transport, storage, and homeostasis of metal ions; sodium and potassium channels and pumps; magnesium phosphate metabolism and photoreceptors; calcium and cellular signaling; the catalytic role of several classes of mononuclear zinc enzymes; the biological chemistry of iron; and copper chemistry and biochemistry. In addition, the book discusses nickel and cobalt enzymes; manganese chemistry and biochemistry; molybdenum, tungsten, vanadium, and chromium; non-metals in biology; biomineralization; metals in the brain; metals and neurodegeneration; metals in medicine and metals as drugs; and metals in the environment.
Inorganic chemistry is a branch of chemistry that studies inorganic compounds, their behavior in different reactions and their composition. Douglas introduces basic concepts of Inorganic in a readable manner.
...[provides] property data on chemical compounds and all physical particles that have been reported in the literature, carefully reviewed by subject experts. Every year older collections are updated with the latest values and new areas will be added as science progresses."
Using classification, diagrams and crystallography elements, we describe in this book the bonds in the crystals using the basic patterns. The use of various criteria such as ionicity character of the bonds, the use of hard sphere models, the Pauling rules and the spatial availability of ions all together make it possible to better understand the spatial organization of typical crystals. Through original representations, the structure and the nature of the bonds in binary crystals of MX- and MX2- types as well as the ternary crystals of the perovskite and spinel type are studied.
Electrochemistry can be an elegant and essential support to synthetic inorganic chemistry. However, it is often perceived as a difficult technique. This book aims to introduce inorganic chemists to electrochemical investigations in as straightforward a way as possible. First, the reader is introduced to the theory of electron transfer processes, how they can be studied by various electrochemical techniques, and the practical procedures required. The book then goes on to look extensively, and with numerous illustrations, at the application of the techniques in the multiple fields of inorganic chemistry (including organometallics, coordination compounds, bioinorganics/biomimetics and materials science). Topics covered include: metallocenes; organometallic and coordination complexes; metal complexes of redox active ligands; metal-carbonyl clusters; superconductors; molecular wires; and proteins. Throughout, special attention is paid to the structural effects accompanying the electron transfer processes. This unique book bridges the gap between undergraduate and research-level electrochemistry books, and will be welcomed as an introduction to electrochemical applications within inorganic chemistry.
This text is intended to provide students with instruction and valuable laboratory experience in the often neglected area of inorganic chemistry. Divided into four main parts, the book covers chemistry of the main group elements, chemistry of the transition metals, organometallic chemistry, and bioinorganic chemistry. Recognizing the high cost of materials, difficulties in waste disposal, and dangers of toxicity, the authors have adopted a ``microscale'' approach to experiments in the book, thereby also reducing the time students spend in preparation. With over 45 experiments, Microscale Inorganic Chemistry incorporates the use of a broad sampling of elements and also covers such topics as laboratory safety, equipment, report writing, and literature searching.
Inorganic chemistry continues to generate much current interest due to its array of applications, ranging from materials to biology and medicine. Techniques in Inorganic Chemistry assembles a collection of articles from international experts who describe modern methods used by research students and chemists for studying the properties and structure