It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For students taking SOCI 350, this guide should serve as your first point of inquiry for class assignments that require research. If you have any questions about the resources here, please call the reference desk at Fintel Library (540.375.2294) for help.
Note that all of these journals listed below allow you to search within them for topics of your specific interest. Alternatively, if you are still deciding on a topic, you can peruse past issues/articles.
An interdisciplinary journal of Social and Critical Theory. Provides articles covering a broad range of topics such as forms of modernity and postmodernity, changing social relations, politics, identities, feminisms, aesthetics and visual culture.
European Journal of Social Theory (EJST), edited by Gerard Delanty, is a peer reviewed quarterly journal that publishes original articles in social theory. It is interdisciplinary in scope and international in its appeal to scholars anywhere in the world. Its conception of social theory is a broad one, including the theoretical traditions within the social sciences, critical social analysis and debates arising from the philosophy of social science.
Publishes original research and review articles in the social and cultural sciences. Launched to cater for the resurgence of interest in culture within contemporary social science, it provides a forum for articles which theorize the relationship between culture and society.
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with full-text periodicals, peer-reviewed journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. It features PDF content going back as far as 1887.
a web-based digital video delivery platform that allows you to view streaming videos from Films Media Group anytime, anywhere, 24/7! Thousands of videos are available for in-class use and remote viewing from the library, in the dorm, or at home.
Full text journals, many back to the original issue. Provides access to journals in the arts & sciences, business, ecology & botany, and languages & literature. JSTOR's coverage typically begins 3 -5 years after the current year.
Contains full text of articles from over 2,500 publications, and indexing and abstracts from nearly 3,600 publications, supporting research in all core undergraduate subjects and for cross-disciplinary work. Also contains the old database "Applied Sciences & Technology Index".
In this volume Sandro Segre provides a comprehensive overview of the major theoretical perspectives in contemporary sociology. The perspectives are divided into four sections: Interpretative Sociology; Structuralist Sociology; Micro and Macrosociological Perspectives; and Historical and Philosophical Perspectives. An introduction to each section provides a detailed overview of the key concepts and figures who contributed to the perspectives. An analysis of their reception in the secondary literature and a balanced evaluation of each perspective derived from extant critical literature are also provided.
This text examines the rise and consolidation of feminist insights into contemporary social theory. The book begins by providing an historical backdrop that led to the emergence of women's experiences starting to be seen on an equal footing to those of men.
Bringing together the author's major scholarly work on Weber over the last thirty years, offering a rich examination of the major themes in his sociology, alongside a reconstruction of his mode of analysis and application of his approach, this book will appeal to scholars around the world with interests in social theory.
Hartmut Rosa advances an account of the temporal structure of society from the perspective of critical theory. He identifies three categories of change in the tempo of modern social life: technological acceleration, evident in transportation, communication, and production; the acceleration of social change, reflected in cultural knowledge, social institutions, and personal relationships; and acceleration in the pace of life, which happens despite the expectation that technological change should increase an individual’s free time. According to Rosa, both the structural and cultural aspects of our institutions and practices are marked by the "shrinking of the present,” a decreasing time period during which expectations based on past experience reliably match the future. When this phenomenon combines with technological acceleration and the increasing pace of life, time seems to flow ever faster, making our relationships to each other and the world fluid and problematic. It is as if we are standing on "slipping slopes,” a steep social terrain that is itself in motion and in turn demands faster lives and technology. As Rosa deftly shows, this self-reinforcing feedback loop fundamentally determines the character of modern life.
Representing a range of approaches and emphases, the chapters in this volume address and illustrate linkages between social theory and history; social theory and historical analysis as mutually supportive frames of analysis, and affinities between the history of social thought and the history of modern societies.
The Routledge Companion to Social Theory provides an authoritative, comprehensive and provocative introduction to the key traditions of thought in social theory today. This ground-breaking reference work brings together major contributors, both established and emergent new voices, to reflect on the ways in which social theory sheds light on the contemporary social world. Represented are: the traditions of classical social thought symbolic interactionism psychoanalysis structuralism, post-structuralism and postmodernism identity theories globalization theories. The Routledge Companion to Social Theory is designed to give a sense of the complexities of both classical and contemporary social theory. Including a helpful glossary of key terms and theorists, this accessible guide is essential reading for students and professionals in social theory, sociology, philosophy, cultural studies, women's studies and politics.
Social and cultural anthropology and archaeology are rich subjects with deep connections in the social and physical sciences. Over the past 150 years, the subject matter and different theoretical perspectives have expanded so greatly that no single individual can command all of it. Consequently, both advanced students and professionals may be confronted with theoretical positions and names of theorists with whom they are only partially familiar, if they have heard of them at all. Students, in particular, are likely to turn to the web to find quick background information on theorists and theories. However, most web-based information is inaccurate and/or lacks depth. Theory in social and Cultural Anthropology is a miuch-needed source providing quick overviews of key theories and theorists within the field.
Quick Crash Courses on Social Theorists
Endnote. What is it and why should I use it?
What is EndNote?
EndNote is a reference management software that requires a subscription to use. Lucky for you, Roanoke College has a subscription. Create an EndNote account and keep track of your research, manage your bibliographies, and best of all, plug in citations as you write your paper. No more stressing over how to properly cite your sources. It's all done for you!