It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Electronic Journals and Encyclopedia for Sociology
The links below lead you to thousands of journal and encyclopedia articles. Hover your mouse over the databases to get descriptions of their coverage. Feel free to call us at 375-2295 if you need help navigating these or any other databases.
A great place to start your research on almost any topic. This is a comprehensive multi-disciplinary full-text database, with full-text periodicals, peer-reviewed journals, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Full text access to numerous sociology journals.
Offers access to more than a century of full-text anthropological knowledge, across the breadth and depth of the discipline. Discover scientific research information in the field of anthropology at your fingertips.
A web-based digital video delivery platform that allows you to view streaming videos from Films Media Group anytime, anywhere, 24/7! Thousands of videos are available for in-class use and remote viewing from the library, in the dorm, or at home.
Full text journals, many back to the original issue. Provides access to journals in the arts & sciences, business, ecology & botany, and languages & literature. JSTOR's coverage typically begins 3 -5 years after the current year.
Contains full text of articles from over 2,500 publications, and indexing and abstracts from nearly 3,600 publications, supporting research in all core undergraduate subjects and for cross-disciplinary work.
Covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research.
Looking for a specific journal? Read this!
The Library's Find a Journal link is listed on the Library's homepage under the research column. If you are off-campus please follow the off-campus link to use Find a Journal. If we do not have full text access to a journal that you are interested in, the option to use our interlibrary loan service is free and convenient!
You can use the Find a Journal database to find a specific title, or browse by subjects. To begin searching for a specific journal, visit our Find a Journalpage.
In our age of globalization and multiculturalism, it has never been more important to understand and appreciate all cultures across the world. The four volumes take a step forward in this endeavour by presenting concise information on those regions least well-known to students across Europe: the Middle East, Asia and Africa. The volumes convey what daily life is like for people in these selected regions. Entries will aid readers in understanding the importance of cultural sociology, to appreciate the effects of cultural forces around the world, and to learn the history of countries and cultures within these important regions. Key Features -Topics are explored within historical context, in three broad historical periods: prehistory to 1250, 1250 to 1920 and 1920 to the present. -One volume each is devoted to the regions of the Middle East and Africa and then one volume to East and Southeast Asia and a final volume to West, Central and South Asia. The volumes include extensive use of photographs and maps to explain cultural and geographic content. -Each volume has its own volume editor with expertise in that particular region. Key Themes Arts, Culture and Science People, Society and Dynasties Religion and Law Family and Daily Life Conflicts and Wars Politics and Government Health and Education Economy, Trade and Industry National Geography and History
Feminist Perspectives in Sociology by Barbara Littlewood
The Feminist Perspectives Series seeks to provide concise, accessible and engaging introductions to key feminist topics and debates. The texts in the series are designed to be used on a wide range of courses touching feminist issues and are written by experienced teachers who are also well known in their respective fields. Each book in the series includes the most up-to-date statistics, research data, key sources and suggestions for further reading. Feminist Perspectives on Sociology examines how sociology has been transformed under the influence of feminism in recent years. This transformation consists both of a critique of established areas and the opening up of new ones. Areas and issues covered include approaches to knowledge and research, patriarchal relations, work in and outside the home, body politics, sport and fitness, migration, violence, the state, and globalisation. The book also reviews a range of ¿post¿ perspectives and arguments including postmodernism, postcolonialism and postfeminism. Feminism is also a transformative social movement. Its political impact, from local to transnational levels, has to be taken into account in assessing developments in sociology, providing it with a connection between research and action. Key features Provides a comprehensive and accessible introduction to feminist perspectives in sociology Discusses and assesses sociological and feminist theories in relation to case studies Covers a wide range of current issues that will interest readers from many disciplinary backgrounds Includes end of chapter summaries, suggestions for further reading and a glossary of key terms Barbara Littlewood is Lecturer in Sociology, University of Glasgow.
Karl Polanyi was one of the most influential political economists of the twentieth-century and is widely regarded as the most gifted of social democrat theorists. In Reconstructing Karl Polanyi, Gareth Dale draws upon primary sources archived in the countries that Polanyi called home--Hungary, Austria, Britain, the United States, and Canada--to provide a sweeping survey of his contribution to the social sciences. Polanyi's intellectual and political outlook can best be summarized through paradoxical formulations such as 'romantic modernist', 'liberal socialist', and 'cosmopolitan patriot.' In exploring these paradoxes, Dale excavates and reconstructs Polanyi's views on a range of topics that have been neglected in the critical literature, including Keynesian economic policy, the evolution and dynamics of Stalin's Russia, regional integration, and McCarthyism. He reinterprets Polanyi's philosophy of history, his theory of democracy, and his economic historiography of Ancient Greece and Mesopotamia, and guides readers through Polyani's critical dialogue with Marxism. While the central threads and motifs of this study are intellectual-historiographical in nature, Dale also critically analyzes the views of Polanyi and his followers on issues of pressing present-day relevance, notably the clash between democracy and capitalism, and the nature and trajectory of European unification.
The Sociology of Sport has grown since its inception in the late 1950s and has become robust, and diverse. Many countries now boast strong scholars in the field and this volume reflects the fascinating research being done. This innovative volume is dedicated to a review of the state of the area by region, and country in some cases. For instance, Latin America is expanding widely in the field, and Korea and Japan have had vibrant Sociology of Sport communities for some time.
Ready to Do Sociology Research? 1...2...3...Go!
Endnote. What is it and why should I use it?
What is EndNote?
EndNote is a reference management software that requires a subscription to use. Lucky for you, Roanoke College has a subscription. Create an EndNote account and keep track of your research, manage your bibliographies, and best of all, plug in citations as you write your paper. No more stressing over how to properly cite your sources. It's all done for you!