English Research Guide: Home

Cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 440 journals, also includes full text for 326 journals.

America's leading 19th century illustrated newspaper from 1857 to 1912, full text.

Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world

Includes Contemporary Authors. Access biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of more than 120,000 authors from every age and literary discipline.

Best source for tracing the history and origin of words.

Over 100 dictionaries and subject reference works in many disciplines including Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms and Oxford Companion to Shakespeare.

Collection of online not-for-profit scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences

Covers production, national traditions, studios, genres, critical theory and film history.

Contains biographical data, critical evaluation, and bibliography for over 1000 authors.

Covers the core disciplines in Women?s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research.

Contains entries that treat a broad range of individual poets and poems, along with many articles devoted to topics, schools, or periods of American verse in the century.

Draws together entries on all aspects of literature including authors, critics, major works, magazines, genres, schools and movements in these regions from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present day.

While the volume is devoted primarily to the literature of medieval England, its multicultural scope also encompasses Islamic, Mongolian, Celtic, Hispanic, Italian, Russian, and Germanic works.

Documents the history and development of post-colonial literature and includes original research relating to the literatures of some 50 countries and territories.

Featuring alphabetically organized bio-critical essays on writers of memoirs, novels, poetry, short stories, and drama, ranging in length from 1,500 to 7,000 words, this comprehensive scholarly work presents a broad spectrum of voices remembering, interpreting, and reinterpreting one of the twentieth century's most politically and emotionally charged events.

A Talking Tour of American English, Region by Region.

Contains brief biographies of important authors, plot summaries of individual works, descriptions of important literary movements, and a wealth of information on other aspects of American literary life and history from the Colonial period to the modern era.

Over 2,000 biographical profiles of important American authors (with information regarding their style, subjects, and major works) and influential foreign writers as well as other figures who have been important in the nation's social and cultural history. There are more than 1,100 full summaries of important American novels, stories, essays, poems (with verse form noted), plays, biographies and autobiographies, tracts, narratives, and histories.

The Companion contains entries on writers, plays, novels, poems, newspapers, journals, anthologies, literary prizes, movements, and professional organizations. It also includes useful plot summaries, detailed biographies, and a number of essay-length articles on key areas, such as Aboriginal writing and science fiction.

From Haworth to Heathcliff and from Wildfell Hall to The Wide Sargasso Sea, The Oxford Companion to the Brontes provides comprehensive, authoritative, and up-to-date information on the lives, works, and afterlives of the three Bronte sisters.

Entries cover fiction, prose, poetry, drama, prominent writers, literary magazines, publishers, and more general topics. From The Apprenticeship of Duddy Kravitz to the Rebel Angles, Sandra Birdsell to Eric Wright, Caribbean-Canadian literature to War literature, this completely revised edition is an invaluable resource for anyone interested in Canadian literature.

the complete and authoritative reference guide to the classical world and its literary heritage.

Written in a lucid, easy style, The Oxford Reader?s Companion to Dickens draws together an unparalleled diversity of information on one of our greatest writers: his life, his works, his reputation, and his cultural context

covers world fiction, historical context, writers, works, literary theory, allusions, characters, and plot summaries.

The Oxford Companion to English Literature has long been established as the leading reference resource for students, teachers, scholars, and general readers of English literature. It provides unrivalled coverage of all aspects of English literature ? from writers, their works, and the historical and cultural context in which they wrote, to critics, literary theory, and allusions.

Spans sixteen centuries of the literature and literary culture of Ireland. From the ogam alphabet in the 4th century, to contemporary writers such as Roddy Doyle and Seamus Heaney,

Provides clear, concise, and often witty definitions of the most troublesome literary terms from abjection to zeugma.

his Companion offers a comprehensive record of New Zealand writing in easily accessible form. It contains more than 1,500 entries on writers, novels, plays, poetry, journals, periodicals, anthologies, literary movements, and professional organisations.

This authoritative dictionary draws on Oxford's unrivalled bank of reference and language resources in order to explore the stories behind names and sayings that can be found in classic literature or today's news.

This is the first historical dictionary devoted to science fiction. It shows the development of science-fiction words and their associated concepts over time, with full citations and bibliographic information.

Compiled by one of the best-known authorities on the Bard's works, this dictionary offers up-to-date information on all aspects of Shakespeare in his own time and on his impact and influence on later ages.

From the conjectured identity of the Dark Lady of the Sonnets to the misprints in the First Folio, from Shakespeare's favourite figures of speech to the staging of Othello in South Africa, a team of 100 internationally renowned scholars provides a lucid, stimulating, and authoritative guide to Shakespeare's plays and poems, and their interpretation around the world over the last four centuries.

This is the most comprehensive guide to modern poetry in English. Celebrated poets offer intriguing views on their fellow poets, such as Tom Paulin on Ted Hughes, Seamus Heaney on Robert Lowell, and Anne Stevenson on Sylvia Plath. 1,500 poets are covered from W.H. Auden to Benjamin Zephaniah.