It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with full-text periodicals, peer-reviewed journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. It features PDF content going back as far as 1887.
Full text journals, many back to the original issue. Provides access to journals in the arts & sciences, business, ecology & botany, and languages & literature. JSTOR's coverage typically begins 3 -5 years after the current year.
(includes Contemporary Authors) Access biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of more than 120,000 authors from every age and literary discipline. This database can be searched by name of person (author) the title of a work or by key words.
<i>Ancient Epic</i> offers a comprehensive and accessible introduction to six of the greatest ancient epics - Homer′s <i>Iliad</i> and <i>Odyssey</i>, Vergil′s <i>Aeneid</i>, Ovid′s <i>Metamorphoses</i>, and Apollonius of Rhodes′ <i>Agonautica</i>. <ul> <li>Provides an accessible introduction to the ancient epic</li> <li>Offers interpretive analyses of poems within a comprehensive historical context</li> <li>Includes a detailed timeline, suggestions for further readings, and an appendix of the Olympian gods and their Akkadian counterparts</li> </ul>
The birth of Aphrodite, the Trojan Horse, Zeus disguised as a swan. These and other classical myths and legends are usually encountered separately, but together they make up a coherent, multigenerational saga of epic battles, bizarre metamorphoses, immortal heroes, and all-too-human gods--afantastic world recognizably real to its audience. Classical Mythology offers newcomers and long-time enthusiasts new ways to navigate the world of Greek and Roman myths, beginning by exploring the landscapes where the myths are set. It then provides a richly detailed timeline of mythic episodesfrom the origin of the cosmos to the end of the Heroic Age--plus an illustrated mythological dictionary listing significant characters, places, events, objects, and concepts. Whether you wish to explore the world that gave rise to ancient mythology or research a specific piece of the whole, this handbook is the best introduction available to an extraordinary cast of characters (gods, nymphs, satyrs, monsters, heroes) and the natural and supernatural stages upon whichtheir fates are played out. Features DT A detailed timeline serves as a convenient "episode guide" chronicling events described in classical mythology DT A comprehensive A-Z section offers a quick way to identify the gods, mortals, events, and objects that are key to specific myths and legends
From Odysseus to Aeneas, from Beowulf to King Arthur, from the Mahâbhârata to the Ossetian "Nart" tales, epic heroes and their stories have symbolized the power of the human imagination. Drawing on diverse disciplines including classics, anthropology, psychology, and literary studies, this product of twenty years' scholarship provides a detailed typology of the hero in Western myth: birth, parentage, familial ties, sexuality, character, deeds, death, and afterlife. Dean A. Miller examines the place of the hero in the physical world (wilderness, castle, prison cell) and in society (among monarchs, fools, shamans, rivals, and gods). He looks at the hero in battle and quest; at his political status; and at his relationship to established religion. The book spans Western epic traditions, including Greek, Roman, Nordic, and Celtic, as well as the Indian and Persian legacies. A large section of the book also examines the figures who modify or accompany the hero: partners, helpers (animals and sometimes monsters), foes, foils, and even antitypes. The Epic Hero provides a comprehensive and provocative guide to epic heroes, and to the richly imaginative tales they inhabit.
"Spectacular and constantly surprising." -Ken Burns Written with the authority of a scholar and the vigor of a bestselling narrative historian, The War That Killed Achilles is a superb and utterly timely presentation of one of the timeless stories of Western civilization. As she did in The Endurance and The Bounty, New York Times bestselling author Caroline Alexander has taken apart a narrative we think we know and put it back together in a way that lets us see its true power. In the process, she reveals the intended theme of Homer's masterwork-the tragic lessons of war and its enduring devastation.
Joseph Campbell's classic cross-cultural study of the hero's journey has inspired millions and opened up new areas of research and exploration. Originally published in 1949, the book hit the New York Times best-seller list in 1988 when it became the subject of The Power of Myth, a PBS television special. The first popular work to combine the spiritual and psychological insights of modern psychoanalysis with the archetypes of world mythology, the book creates a roadmap for navigating the frustrating path of contemporary life. Examining heroic myths in the light of modern psychology, it considers not only the patterns and stages of mythology but also its relevance to our lives today--and to the life of any person seeking a fully realized existence. Myth, according to Campbell, is the projection of a culture's dreams onto a large screen; Campbell's book, like Star Wars, the film it helped inspire, is an exploration of the big-picture moments from the stage that is our world. It is a must-have resource for both experienced students of mythology and the explorer just beginning to approach myth as a source of knowledge.
ILLiad is the name of the software the library uses to borrow journal articles (and some books) from other libraries. To use ILLiad, you must first create an account.
If you forget your ILLiad account password, contact Jeffrey Martin and ask him to reset your password. If you have any other interlibrary questions, please feel free to call Jeffrey at 540-375-2298.
Your results from some databases are set up to automatically fill in an ILLiad request form for you if the database doesn't have the full-text article. Some databases have a link reading Request through interlibrary loan.
Other important things to know about Interlibrary Loan:
No cost to you
Delivery time can be 2 days to 2 weeks; we’re at the mercy of the library sending it. Procrastinators should take this into consideration and keep in mind that delivery times are longer later in the semester!