Research Guides: INQ 300 Revitalizing Main Street: Home

Databases for INQ 300

Welcome to Fintel Library's Guide to Main Street

The tabs at the top of the page break our resources down into some general areas.

The concept of “Main Street” has been the centerpiece of community identity for American cities and small towns since the late 1800s. It evolved beyond a central address into a cultural touchstone that reflects a place’s history, memory, aesthetics, economy, politics, aspirations, and values.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with full-text periodicals, peer-reviewed journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. It features PDF content going back as far as 1887.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. includes all data from Humanities International Index plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases; includes full text for more than 1,200 journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text journals, many back to the original issue. Provides access to journals in the arts & sciences, business, ecology & botany, and languages & literature. JSTOR's coverage typically begins 3 -5 years after the current year.
Lexis-Nexis Universe (now Nexis Uni) This link opens in a new window
"Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790." Users will find full-text legal, business, medical, and news sources in Nexis Uni.
Newsbank This link opens in a new window
1991 to present fulltext newspaper articles from around US.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including the Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. The database also contains selective full text for more than 330 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

Encyclopedias

Reference resources include encyclopedias, dictionaries and other materials you use to "refer" to. Use these resources for background information on a topic.

Encyclopedia of American Studies This link opens in a new window
The Encyclopedia of American Studies brings together a wide range of disciplines related to the history and cultures of the United States, from pre-colonial days to the present. It features broad, synthetic articles covering areas such as history, literature, art, photography, film, architecture, urban studies, ethnicity, race, gender, economics, politics, wars, consumer culture, and global America.
Encyclopedia of Urban America This link opens in a new window
Details selected major cities, suburbs, people, places, concepts, contemporary issues, history, and development of urban America. Topics range from problems typically associated with urban life such as crime, pollution, and congestion to the arts and humanities, social concerns, religion, infrastructure, key individuals, and economic issues.
Poverty and the Government in America: A Historical Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive encyclopedia available on the U.S. government's responses to poverty from the colonial era to the present day.
Dictionary of Environment and Conservation This link opens in a new window
over 9,000 A to Z entries on scientific and social aspects of the environment?its key thinkers, treaties, movements, organizations, concepts, and theories. Covering subjects such as sustainable development, biodiversity, and environmental ethics, this is the ideal reference for students of environment and conservation, as well as for professionals in the field.
Dictionary of Geography This link opens in a new window
Includes coverage of cartography, surveying, meteorology, climatology, ecology, population, industry, and development, as well as up-to-date treatment of fast-changing topics such as plate tectonics, remote sensing, geographic information systems, and aerial differentiation.

Subject Guide

Dave Wiseman

Contact:

115 Fintel

(540) 375-2575

Subjects: Agriculture, Communication, Data Sets / Statistics, English, Environmental Studies, Film Studies, Geography, Math, Computer Sciences, & Physics, Peace Studies, Science & Technology, Statistics / Data Sets, Video Resources