What do we offer?
The Fintel Library Instruction Program seeks to provide an introduction to information literacy skills in relation to research and information seeking. The instruction librarian will guide the students towards knowledge of information resources, provide analytic and critical thinking skills and help instill the judgment they need to use them intelligently. An information literate student will have the skills necessary for lifelong learning, and Fintel Library hopes to foster those skills in our instruction classes.
Faculty members teaching courses with a research component should request one or more library instruction sessions led by a librarian.
Please read the content standards of our library sessions and let us know what we can do for you.
INQ 110’s (Intro to Library Research)
- Difference between types of publications (magazines, journals, newspapers)
- Explain that periodicals are accessed through library databases
- Demonstrate how to search in the library catalog (advanced search, truncation devices, and Boolean operators) and is able to request materials from Hollins
- Compares book, book chapter, and journal article citations
- Discuss the importance of citing sources
If time allows:
- Compare sources based on objective criteria: purpose, point of view, authority, accuracy, currency
- Online searching: Uses Google Advanced Search
INQ 200’s and intro level for major courses
- Distinguish between search limits in general databases
- Discuss differences in primary and secondary research
- Differentiate between general (novice databases) and subject specific databases.
- Uses Google Scholar and Google Books and Worldcat to locate sources
- Proficiency in understanding how to quote and paraphrase original text
INQ 300 and upper level major courses
- Evaluate sources based on author’s claim, usefulness and relevance in relation to student’s own research claim
- Search subject specific databases and retrieve specialized results
- Determine which types of information sources are standard in their discipline (trade publications, monographs, data, etc.)
- Choose prominent authors and publications in their field
- Justifies when online searching is more appropriate for locating certain resources than using library (subscription) resources
If you are looking for a shorter session, or something more specific, please let us know if one of these sessions would be more accomodating:
The Fintel and Wyndham Robertson Catalog (15 minutes)
This session teaches students how to locate books, request items from Hollins, and use interlibrary loan.
Databases: What's the difference? (15 minutes)
This session introduces students to the conceptual difference between our databases.
Database searching: Basics (15-20 minutes)
This session teaches students how to develop a basic search and limit their results.
Evaluating Sources: Basics (10-15 minutes)
This session instruces students to basic evaluation criteria.
Website evaluation (15 minutes)
This session introduces students to evaluating information found on websites, or outside of the Library's website.
Contact Piper Cumbo to schedule your library instruction session(s). Please be able to provide a syllabus and the current assignment the students will be working on.