Skip to main content

INQ 300 Headline Literature Spring 2018: Home

Useful Databases

Welcome to Fintel Library's Guide to Headline Literature

 

The tabs at the top of the page break our resources down into some general areas.

Literature Resources

  • Academic Search Complete --  comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with full-text periodicals,  peer-reviewed journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. It features PDF content going back as far as 1887,  (off-campus access)
  • Humanities Index (from Omnifile)- art, classics, film, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion, history (off-campus access)
  • Humanities International Complete -full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world (off-campus access)
  • JSTOR - Full text journals, many back to the original issue. Contains both Arts & Sciences and the Language & Literature Collection (off-campus access)
  • Literature Resource Center - (includes Contemporary Authors) Access biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of more than 120,000 authors from every age and literary discipline. Search by Author Name, Title, Genre, Literary Movement or Literary Themes. A great place to start any literature research project or paper.(off-campus access)
  • M L A Bibliography - indexes books, articles and dissertations on
  • modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics, from 1926 to the present. (off-campus access)
  • Women’s Studies International - supports curriculum in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented.(off-campus access)

News Resources

  • Lexis-Nexis Universe - News and legal database (off-campus access)
  • Newsbank - 1991 to present fulltext newspaper articles from around US. (off-campus access)
  • Newspaper Source Plus    - provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including the Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. The database also contains selective full text for more than 330 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.(off-campus access)

Manager Library Information Systems