Skip to main content

Guide to Citations: Home

Academic Integrity at Roanoke College

Roanoke College's edition of A Writers Reference states the following:

"Roanoke College is a collection of learners-students, faculty, and staff alike. We have gathered to provide mutual support in our search for truth. Our Statment of Purpose says that we are "dedicated to educating men and women in high standards of scholarship to prepare them for responsible lives of learning, service and leadership"; we are "committed to an integrative approach to education that strives to balance intellectual, ethical, spiritual, and personal growth." In order for this to be possible, we are all responsible for ensuring both an atmosphere conducive to learning and systems to safeguard the learning process. Two of those safeguards are academic freedom and academic integrity."

"The following offenses constitute academic integrity violations at Roanoke College:

  • cheating,
  • lying,
  • plagiarizing,
  • impeding investigation,
  • denying access to academic materials, and
  • any other actions that violate student regulations, as outlined in the Student Handbook or public statutes, for the purpose of leading to or supporting an academic integrity violation as outlinved above."

"Plagiarism is a very serious violation of academic integrity. It can also be a complex problem for students to understand and to avoid. In an academic setting, plagiarism occurs when the words, ideas, or data of another writer, speaker, or researcher- whether published or unpublished- are presented as one's own. Such an act of misrepresentation without proper acknowledgement is a violation of academic integrity at Roanoke College. Students are therefore expected to submit their own work, in their own words, and in their own format."

"Any sources used in the preparation and presentation of a student's work must be carefully and thoroughly acknowledged with the proper documentation. Merely to copy a passage, however brief, without proper documentation or acknowledgement and without quotation marks is a flagrant form of plagiarism."

Additional guidelines can be found in the AI Handbook, Academic Integrity at Roanoke College. Section R3 of the writing handbook contains more information on paraphrasing, summarizing, and specific citation styles such as MLA, APA, and CMS.

 

This handbook can be found at the Reference Desk at Fintel Library.

 

Subject Guide

Piper Cumbo
Contact:
220 High Street
Salem, VA 24153
540-375-2295

Helpful Hints

Bibliography- a list of works on a particular subject or by a particular author.

Annotated Bibliogrpahy- a bibliography that gives a summary of the research that has been done.

Works Cited: a list of documents that have been cited or used as a reference.

Citation- a reference to a specific source

Citation Styles- guidesto cite resources in research papers, journal articles, and books, i.e. MLA, APA, Chicago/Turabian