Skip to main content

Guide to Citations: Humanities (Bibliography) Style

Help with citation information

Guidelines and examples

The Bibliography Style is preferred by many in the humanities (e.g., literature, history, and the arts). This style presents bibliographic information in notes (either footnotes or endnotes) and, often, a bibliography.

Each example includes a note (N) followed by a bibliographic entry (B). After the first book entry, all Note examples will use the full version. To make it concise, use just the author's last name(s), the main title, and page number(s).

Book: Single Author

First note citation in a paper with full bibliography or subsequent citations with or without:

N: 1. Gutman, Mozart, 41.

First note citation in a paper without full bibliography:

N: 1. Robert W. Gutman, Mozart: A Cultural Biography (New York: Harcourt Brace, 1999), 41.

B: Gutman, Robert W. Mozart: A Cultural Biography. New York: Harcourt Brace, 1999.

Book: Two Authors

N: 7. Randolph Hock and Gary Price, The Extreme Searcher's Internet Handbook: A Guide for the Serious Searcher (Medford: CyberAge Books, 2004).

B: Hock, Randolph, and Gary Price. The Extreme Searcher's Internet Handbook: A Guide for the Serious Searcher. Medford: CyberAge Books, 2004.

Book: Four or More Authors

N: 2. William Davidson et al., Retailing Management, 6th ed. (New York: Wiley, 1988), 149.

B: Davidson, William, Daniel Sweeney, Thomas Jones, and Ronald Stampfl. Retailing Management. 6th ed. New York: Wiley, 1988.

Book: Multivolume   

When citing the work as a whole, give the total number of volumes after the title (or editor). If published over several years, give the range of years.

N: 8. Wright, Evolution and the Genetics of Populations.. 4 vols. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1968-78, 2:341.

B: Wright, Sewell. Evolution and the Genetics of Populations. 4 vols. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1968-78.

When citing only one volume:

N: Sewell Wright, Evolution and the Genetics of Populations, vol. 2, Theory of Gene Frequencies (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1969), 341.

B: Wright, Sewell. Theory of Gene Frequencies. Vol. 2, Evolution and the Genetics of Populations. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1969.

Chapter in a Book   

N: 6 Robert F. Williams, Jr. "Grand Designs", in The Oxford Companion to Architecture"(Ontario: Oxford University Press, 2004), 52-4. 

B: Williams, Jr., Robert F. "Grand Designs." In The Oxford Companion to Architecture, edited by Randall Stephens, 47-64. Ontario: Oxford University Press, 2004.

E-Book

N: 3. Philip B. Kurland and Ralph Lerner, eds. The Founders' Constitution (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1987), http://press-pubs.uchicago.edu/founders/ (accessed June 21, 2011).

B: Kurland, Philip B., and Ralph Lerner, eds. The Founders' Constitution. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1987. http://press-pubs.uchicago.edu/founders/. Also available in print form and as a CD-ROM.

 

 

Articles

Journal with Issue Number Available

N: 1. Carolyn Simmons and Karen Becker-Olsen, "Achieving Marketing Objectives through Social Sponsorships," Journal of Marketing 70, no. 4 (2006): 161

B: Simmons, Carolyn, Karen Becker-Olsen. "Achieving Marketing Objectives through Social Sponsorships." Journal of Marketing, 70, no. 4 (2006): 154-169

Article in an Online Journal

N: 2. Mark A. Hatlky et al., "Quality-of-life and depressive symptoms in postmenopausal women after receiving hormone therapy," Journal of the American Medical Association 287, no. 5 (2002), http://jama.ama-assn.org/issues/v287n5/rfull/joc10108.html#aainfo.

B: Hlatky, Mark A. Derek Boothroyd, Eric Vittinghoff, Penny Sharp, and Mary A. Whooley. "Quality-of-Life and Depressive Symptoms in Postmenopausal Women after Receiving Hormone Therapy." Journal of the American Medical Association 287, no. 5 (February 6, 2002), http://jama.ama-assn.org/issues/v287n5/rfull/joc10108.html#aainfo (accessed January 7, 2004).

Article in an Online Database

N: 17. Trevor M. Thomas, "Wales: Land of Mines and Quarries," Geographical Review 46, no. 1 (1956): 71, http://www.jstor.org.

B: Thomas, Trevor M. "Wales: Land of Mines and Quarries." Geographical Review 46, no. 1 (1956): 59-81. http://www.jstor.org

 

Entire Website

N: 13. "Internet Weather Source," National Weather Service, http://www.nws.noaa.gov/.

B: National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. "NOAA's National Weather Service." U.S. Dept. of Commerce. http://www.nws.noaa.gov/ (accessed January 21, 2011).

Magazine   

N: 4. Stanley Reed, "Seeing Past the War," Business Week, August 21, 2006, 21.

B: Reed, Stanley. "Seeing Past the War." Business Week, August 21, 2006.

B: Reed, Stanley. "Seeing Past the War." Business Week, August 21, 2006. http://www.businessweek.com/news/2006-08-21/seeing-past-the-war.html (accessed October 2, 2009).

 

Subject Guide

Piper Cumbo's picture
Piper Cumbo
Contact:
220 High Street
Salem, VA 24153
540-375-2295