Some instructors place copies of articles or books on "reserve" at the library. This means that the book or article is being held for your class. To read a book or article on reserve, come to the First Floor Lending Services Desk. The staff will check the item out to you for in-library use. You may make a photocopy or scan the item.
In order to access many of the library's resources from off-campus, including online databases which contain journals, magazines, and newspaper articles, you will need to follow the link that reads "off campus access" and type in the following information:
Roanoke College ID Number (this is the series of numbers found on your picture ID)
The only log-in screen that you should see is this one:
If you are having trouble logging in and you are typing in everything correctly, please call the Library's Reference Desk at 540-375-2295.
You will encounter the following library terms when visiting Fintel Library, or using the resources on our website:
1. Abstract - a brief summary of a book or article. Quickly reading an abstract will help you decide if you would like to get the full article or book.
2. Bibliography - a list of books, articles, and other materials that are cited by the source you are looking at. Also known as a works cited list, or a references list.
3. Call Number - Each book in our library has a call number--a series of numbers and letters that help you locate the book. When searching for a book in the library's catalog, remember to write down or print out the call number. Call numbers are organized by subject, so books on the same topic will be shelved next to one another.
4. Catalog - the online system that lists all of the books, media, and other materials in our library's collection. To search the catalog, click on the link that reads Search only Fintel Library catalog.
5. Citation - brief information about a source, such as a book or article. It usually lists the author, title of the book (or name of the magazine, journal or newspaper), title of the article (if applicable), publication date or year, pages numbers (if applicable), and publisher (if applicable).
6. Database - a collection of articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals.
7. Find Full Text button - When searching in the library's databases for articles, you will often see the "Find Full Text" button. If the article is not available in full-text in the database, you can click on the "Find Full Text" button to see if the article is available online in a different database, or order a copy of it for free through our interlibrary loan service by clicking the "Request through Interlibrary Loan" button.
8. Full-Text - When searching in the library's database for articles, you will often see a link that says "full text" (sometimes marked as PDF Full Text or HTML Full Text). This means that the article is available online in the database. Clicking on the "full text" link will take you to the article where you can read it on your computer, print it out, download it, or email it to yourself. If the article is not available in "full text," you can click on the Find Full Text button or the "Request through Interlibrary Loan" button.
9. Peer Reviewed - A scholarly material based on original research. It is often a scholarly journal article. Not a magazine or newspaper article. It is a material that is written by an expert in a field (e.g., doctor, scientist, professor). Generally, peer reviewed materials are fairly lengthy and text-heavy. Peer Reviewed materials always cite their sources, so you will usually see a bibliography with it. Sometimes, peer reviewed materials are referred to as: scholarly, academic, or refereed.
10. Stacks - This is the area where the books are shelved. In Fintel Library, the book stacks are on the First, Second and Third Floors of the library. Reference books (REF) are shelved on the first floor and cannot be checked out. Circulating books (books that can be checked out) begin on the 2nd floor. Books with call numbers A-PZ are shelved on the 2nd floor. Books with call numbers Q-Z are shelved on the 3rd floor.