Skip to main content

SOCI 454: Seminar Fall 2016

Not sure about a journal being peer-reviewed? Try Ulrich's

Your SOCI 454 Class Research Project

Sociology-strong Databases Worth Your While

Google Scholar

Find Books, DVDs, etc. in Fintel Library's Online Catalog

Search the library's online catalog from here. You can search by keyword, title, subject, author, etc. Please call us at 375-2295 if you need help.



Worldcat

Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>

Looking for a specific journal? Read this!

The Library's Find a Journal link is listed on the Library's homepage under the research column. If you are off-campus please follow the off-campus link to use Find a Journal. If we do not have full text access to a journal that you are interested in, the option to use our interlibrary loan service is free and convenient! 

You can use the Find a Journal database to find a specific title, or browse by subjects. To begin searching for a specific journal, visit our Find a Journal page. 

ILLiad and Worldcat

 ILLiad is the name of the software the library uses to borrow journal articles (and some books) from other libraries. To use ILLiad, you must first create an account.

If you forget your ILLiad account password, contact Jeffrey Martin and ask him to reset your password. If you have any other interlibrary questions, please feel free to call Jeffrey at 540-375-2298.

 Your results from some databases set up to automatically fill in an ILLiad request form for you if the database doesn't have the full-text article.  Some databases have a link reading Request through interlibrary loan.

Other important things to know about Interlibrary Loan:

  • No cost to you
  • Delivery time can be 2 days to 2 weeks; we’re at the mercy of the library sending it.  Procrastinators should take this into consideration and keep in mind that delivery times are longer later in the semester!

 

For off campus access to Worldcat, go here:

WorldCat - 32 million catalog records of items by libraries around the world. (off-campus access)

Secondary Data and Data Sets

Endnote. What is it and why should I use it?

What is EndNote?

EndNote is a reference management software that requires a subscription to use. Lucky for you, Roanoke College has a subscription. Create an EndNote account and keep track of your research, manage your bibliographies, and best of all, plug in citations as you write your paper. No more stressing over how to properly cite your sources. It's all done for you!

Please be in touch if you have any questions!

Piper Cumbo
Contact:
220 High Street
Salem, VA 24153
540-375-2295