Research Guides: Public Health Studies Guide: Home

How do I...?

Electronic Journals Concerned With Public Health

Note that all of these journals listed below allow you to search within them for topics of your specific interest. Alternatively, if you are still deciding on a topic, you can peruse past issues/articles.

American Journal of Epidemiology
The oldest and one of the premier epidemiologic journals devoted to the publication of empirical research findings, opinion pieces, and methodological developments in the field of epidemiologic research.
American Journal of Public Health
Articles of original research, research methods, program evaluations, analytic reviews, including health policy analysis and reports on health policy.
Annual Review of Public Health
Provides primary research to identify the principal contributions in the field of public health.
BMC Public Health
BMC Public Health is an open access, peer-reviewed journal that considers articles on the epidemiology of disease and the understanding of all aspects of public health.
Bulletin of the World Health Organization
The scientific journal of the World Health Organization. Presents original research findings on worldwide human health problems.
Education for Health: Change in Learning & Practice
Designed to be of interest and help to all those who make policy and those who implement policity concerned with change. Focus on educaton, research and practice for improving access to, and quality of, health care in the context of changing opportunities.
Epidemiology
A peer-reviewed scientific journal that publishes original research on the full spectrum of epidemiologic topics. Journal content ranges from cancer, heart disease and other chronic illnesses to reproductive, environmental, psychosocial, infectious-disease and genetic epidemiology. The journal places special emphasis on theory and methodology, and welcomes commentaries that explore fundamental assumptions or offer provocative dissent.
Globalization and Health
A pioneering and transdisciplinary journal that situates public health and wellbeing within the dynamic forces of global development; publishing high quality original research and debate on globalization and its effects on public health, both positive and negative.
Health Affairs
Committed to the exploration of policy issues in the domestic and international health arenas. Contains papers from industry, labor, government and academe. Also contains book reviews.
Health and Place
The journal is an interdisciplinary journal dedicated to the study of all aspects of health and health care in which place or location matters.
Journal of Epidemiology and Community Health
Encompasses all aspects of epidemiology and public health. It publishes original research, opinions and materials concerned with the study and improvement of communities worldwide.
Journal of Health and Social Behavior
Articles that apply sociological concepts and methods to the understanding of health, illness, and medicine in their social context.
The Lancet
Original research, commentary, and correspondence. Content is complemented by regular blog posts.
Medical Anthropology Quarterly
An international journal published by the Society for Medical Anthropology, a section of the American Anthropological Association. The journal publishes research and theory in all areas of medical anthropology. Its goal is to stimulate development of important theory, methods, and debates in medical anthropology and to explore the links between medical anthropology, the broader field of anthropology, and neighboring fields in the humanities, social sciences, and health-related disciplines, including public health and clinical medicine.
National Health Statistics Reports
These reports provide annual data summaries, present analyses of health topics, or present new information on methods or measurement issues.
Public Health
Provides international coverage of preventive medicine, epidemiology, social & community medicine. Topics: child health, communicable disease control control, health service provision & management, allocation of scarce resources epidemiology.

Faculty Contacts

For more information about Public Health Studies, please contact any of the following faculty members:

Dr. Shannon Anderson, Coordinator of Public Health Studies and Sociology

slanderson@roanoke.edu

x5104

Dr. Daniel Sarabia, Sociology and Environmental Studies

sarabia@roanoke.edu

x2220

Dr. Elizabeth Ackley, Health and Exercise Science (Brian H. Thornhill Associate Professor, HHP)

ackley@roanoke.edu

x5292

Dr. Chad Morris, Anthropology and Honors

cmorris@roanoke.edu

x4926

Dr. Kristen Schorpp, Sociology

schorpp@roanoke.edu

x2416

Dr. Alice Kassens, John S. Shannon Professor of Economics

kassens@roanoke.edu

x2428

Dr. Kit Myers, Sociology

kmyers@roanoke.edu

x2418

Internet Resources: Informational

American Public Health Association
Works to Improve the health of the public and achieve equity in health status.
Centers for Disease Control
CDC works 24/7 to protect America from health, safety and security threats, both foreign and in the U.S.
Global Health Council
Global Health Council (GHC) is the leading membership organization supporting and connecting advocates, implementers and stakeholders around global health priorities worldwide.
Inequality Is Real
Brings clarity to the national dialogue on wage and income inequality, using interactive tools and videos to tell the story of how we arrived at the state of inequality we find today and what can be done to reverse course and ensure workers get their fair share.
Office of Minority Health
Dedicated to improving the health of racial and ethnic minority populations through the development of health policies and programs that will help eliminate health disparities.
Office on Women’s Health
Leads several groups and committees to coordinate efforts for women's health within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), as well as with other federal agencies. Learn more about what we do.
Pan-American Health Organization
PAHO is the specialized international health agency for the Americas. It works with countries throughout the region to improve and protect people's health.
This Is Public Health
The This is Public Health (TIPH) campaign was created by the Association of Schools and Programs of Public Health (ASPPH) to brand public health and raise awareness of how public health affects individuals, families, communities, and populations.
United Nations, Programmes Page (many are health related)
The United Nations is an international organization founded in 1945. It is currently made up of 193 Member States. The mission and work of the United Nations are guided by the purposes and principles contained in its founding Charter.
USAID
USAID is the lead U.S. Government agency that works to end extreme global poverty and enable resilient, democratic societies to realize their potential.
World Health Organization
Our goal at the World Health Organization (WHO) is to build a better, healthier future for people all over the world. Working through offices in more than 150 countries, WHO Secretariat staff work side by side with governments and other partners to ensure the highest attainable level of health for all people.

Internet Resources : Data

Healthy People 2010 and 2020
Provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans.
Country Health Rankings and Roadmaps
The annual County Health Rankings measure vital health factors, including high school graduation rates, obesity, smoking, unemployment, access to healthy foods, the quality of air and water, income inequality, and teen births in nearly every county in America. The annual Rankings provide a revealing snapshot of how health is influenced by where we live, learn, work and play.
Gender Action Portal ( see “Health” tab)
A collection of summarized research evaluating the impact of specific policies, strategies, and organizational practices to close gender gaps in the areas of economic opportunity, politics, health, and education.

E-books Worth Knowing About

To Repair the World by Paul Farmer; Jonathan Weigel (Editor); Bill Clinton (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9780520275973
Publication Date: 2013-05-01
Breast Cancer and the Environment by Breast Cancer and the Environment, Scientific Evidence, Research Methodology, and Future Directions Committee; Institute of Medicine Staff; Board on Health Care Services Staff; Board on Health Sciences Policy Staff
ISBN: 9780309220699
Publication Date: 2012-04-20
Handbook for Public Health Social Work by Robert Keefe (Editor); Elaine T. Jurkowski (Editor)
ISBN: 9780826107428
Publication Date: 2012-11-01
International Encyclopedia of Public Health by Stella R. Quah (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 9780128037089
Publication Date: 2016-10-06
Public Health Ethics by Drue H. Barrett (Editor); Andreas Reis (Editor); Gail Bolan (Editor); Angus Dawson (Editor); Leonard W. Ortmann (Editor); Carla Saenz (Editor)
ISBN: 9783319238463
Publication Date: 2016-04-20
Sex for Life by Laura Carpenter (Editor); John DeLamater (Editor)
ISBN: 9780814772522
Publication Date: 2012-02-01
South African Women Living with HIV by Anna Aulette-Root; Judy Aulette; Floretta Boonzaier
ISBN: 9780253010544
Publication Date: 2013-12-13

Citing Your Sources

AMA Manual of Style
Online (10th) edition of the AMA Manual, with additional features such as a conversion calculator, style quizzes, etc. Note that you will need to create an account to make use of the features and functionality.
AMA Style
"This resource discusses references page formatting for the American Medical Association (AMA) style sheet. AMA was developed by the American Medical Association for the purpose of writing medical research."
OWL Purdue ASA Style Guide
Covers American Sociological Association (ASA) style and includes information about manuscript formatting, in-text citations, formatting the references page, and accepted manuscript writing style. The bibliographical format described here is taken from the American Sociological Association (ASA) Style Guide, 5th edition.
OWL Purdue APA Style Guide
APA (American Psychological Association) style is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition, second printing of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page. For more information, please consult the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, (6th ed., 2nd printing).

Endnote. What is it and why should I use it?

What is EndNote?

EndNote is a reference management software that requires a subscription to use. Lucky for you, Roanoke College has a subscription. Create an EndNote account and keep track of your research, manage your bibliographies, and best of all, plug in citations as you write your paper. No more stressing over how to properly cite your sources. It's all done for you!

How to use Endnote This link opens in a new window
No more worrying about citations! This will help you rest assured that you are attributing information accurately in your assignments!
Log in to Endnote This link opens in a new window

Public Health Studies Guide: Home