A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with full-text periodicals, peer-reviewed journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. It features PDF content going back as far as 1887.
Contains full text of articles from over 2,500 publications, and indexing and abstracts from nearly 3,600 publications, supporting research in all core undergraduate subjects and for cross-disciplinary work. Also contains the old database "Applied Sciences & Technology Index".
How did a Roanoke neighbor's secret upend North Carolina politics and why did a weeding scandal in Big Lick make front-page headlines in New York? These questions and many more are answered in this exciting volume of hidden stories and forgotten tales from the Star City. Discover why a Roanoker was found frozen in the North Atlantic and what Mother's Day crime and trial shocked the city in 1949. Meet the Black Cardinals, a semipro African American baseball team that played in the 1930s and '40s, and find out how a fistfight at Shenandoah Life helped save the company. Author Nelson Harris delves into the annals of history to uncover these marvelous and mostly unknown stories of the Star City of the South.
From simple beginnings as a small neighborhood in 1907, Greater Raleigh Court has grown into one of Roanoke, Virginia's most prestigious and valued enclaves--a thriving community filled with historic architecture, bustling shops and an energetic sense of place. Although the town's appearance has changed with the decades, the character of the community has not. Mayor and author Nelson Harris tells the story of this neighborhood through an exploration of its old residential streets, its historic bridges and buildings--including the renowned Grandin Theater--and brings to life each era of a history that is marked by both controversy and pride.